We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Ota

Sushi Ota
4529 Mission Bay Dr, San Diego, CA 92109-4920 (Pacific Beach)
858-270-5670
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #35 of 3,977 restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $10 - $100
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Pacific Beach
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A wonderful surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

In a small strip mall of off white stucco with a 7/11 as its anchor shop Ota Sushi unexpectedly hides its treasures. The initial fishy smell worried me when I first arrived. The miso soup arrived withe the most finely cut scallions I had ever seen. I knew I was in good hands. The mighty staff behind the counter move swiftly to carry out orders and they are committed to excellence. I was compelled booked a table for tonight before I left yesterday.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    189
    45
    14
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Get your sushi fix”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I love this place. They have this Sashimi sampler platter that is to die for. If your new to the world of sushi, don't pass up on the sea eel sashimi, its excellent. 5 out of 5

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Local Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

In a small nondescript strip mall, surprised to find such quality. Lovely decor, excellent food, decent service. The person I sat next to mentioned she travels miles just to come there, because it's the best around. And they obviously have a local following.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Authentic..not for westerners looking for cheap sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

If you LOVE sushi...REAL sushi this is it!! You won't find California rolls here (nor should you) this is an authentic experience. Sashimi is so tender. The hospitality second to none. You don't have to ask for fresh wasabi here, it's on your plate. If you are unsure about what a dish is, the staff is helpful. It's well priced but, well worth it!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
“HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

A couple of weeks back, I made a reservation for my birthday for 7 people. I found out a few days later that more people would be joining us, so I called and asked to increase the reservation to 12. Without skipping a beat, Keiko (I believe her name was) said that it is not possible to increase a reservation past 7.

So I asked her:
Why not? How many people can you accommodate in your restaurant? Are there bookings full for 5PM? She wouldn't give me a clear answer.

So, my boyfriend called and made a separate reservation for 5 people (in order to make up the difference). My full party got there on my birthday, and we got there early. Keiko came outside and started asking people if they had reservations and if they said "No", she would say, "Oh, we can seat you, but you have to be gone by 6" WTF?! REALLY?

She came up to us, and we said, "We have two reservations, can we sit next to each other?" while pointing out the long bench and tables that could perfectly sit 12 people. And she said it was not possible to move the tables, they had to stay in their places, and we couldn't sit next to each other, we had to sit in different rooms. The HELL?! I just want us to be able to SIT next to each other! She walked past us after that like we were yesterday's trash, completely unwilling to meet us half way.

It is completely possible to sit 12 people next to each other. If it were another group of 7, and then another group of 5 came along, they would eventually sit them next to each other, no problem. If it's a problem with a waitress being over burdened, get two waitresses to serve us!!! It's not rocket science!

Sushi Ota is just a really good sushi bar that has gotten rave reviews on their food, so they (or Keiko) don't give a CRAP about making 12 people mad, since they figure that they are going to make that money anyway, and just toss them aside. They are lazy and don't want to meet people half way to give decent customer service. If making a reservation for 7+ people is a problem, they need to say so on their automated directory, or someone needs to say "Okay, but we can't increase that later, is that okay?" But I don't think that is really the case.

Good thing I made a back up reservation at Harney Sushi in Old Town, they are excellent.

I will NOT be coming back here based on the "Customer Service" that I received this evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Ota also viewed

 

Been to Sushi Ota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi Ota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.