We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Sushi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Ota

Sushi Ota
4529 Mission Bay Dr, San Diego, CA 92109-4920 (Pacific Beach)
858-270-5670
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 3,683 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $100
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Pacific Beach
San Diego, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is some really awesome sushi. I don't think i've ever had better sushi ever. I was surprised by the environment, but that's ok - it's still amazing good.

I am still lost as to how they are able to serve such FRESH and amazing fish. IF you are a true sushi lover, then this is the place to go for you. Their sushi is amazingly fresh, and that's why it's great for lovers of sushi. It's extremely affordable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    66
    19
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
reno
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Truly the best sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Just as other reviewers stated, this has the best sashimi outside of Tokyo. Do they kill their own fish? How does it taste this good? Fried soft shell crab, fried smelt, and all other Japanese items on menu for non raw fish eaters. Kids liked teriyaki chicken appetizer with rice. Adults can enjoy best sushi. Service is not great as the food. We were given exactly 1h 15 min to eat, reminder given at beginning of meal. Plum wine was just right, not too sweet. Dessert was ok. Six of us ate for $250.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“I agree, best sushi I have had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was hands down the best sushi place I have visited. Was surprised by the surroundings ( right next to a 7-11) but the neighborhood still seemed fine and the restaurant was really nice inside as well.
Everything we tried was great from the Miso soup and Sushi on to desert.
I plan to go back

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Best sushi in San Diego”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

You can not get better than this in San Diego. Very Japanese flavor (with lots of Japanese clientele). I would go back to this place. Great date spot, or just for hanging out with friends

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best sushi in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Best sushi in town. All of the rolls are very good the service is excellent. If you have not been make sure to put it on you list.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Ota also viewed

 

Been to Sushi Ota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi Ota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.