We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well reviewed in yelp” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ricky's Family Restaurant - CLOSED

Ricky's Family Restaurant
2181 Hotel Cir S, San Diego, CA 92108 (Mission Valley / Hotel Circle)
(619) 291-4498
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert
Neighborhood: Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Fountain Valley
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“well reviewed in yelp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

huge portions, really clean ceiling ( recently painted ), in a vintage looking diner ( late 70?? ) , had the cornbeef and eggs with one pancake on the side, coffee was pretty good, not uber strong stuff, waitress was very friendly, parking was a bit tough since it's adjacent to a big hotel

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    34
    15
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Don't overlook this...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We took four adults on a Monday eve at 6:00 pm and experienced some of the best food and service you can imagine. The server was joyful, competent and kind... The dishes were unusually delicious. No wonder they've been in business for 45 years. Two of our party split an entree, one of our party wanted a bit of customization of his meal... All handled graciously by the server. Highly recommend this place for casual dining with good food, clean environment and great servers.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Family Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Menu choices were excellant. and the food was good. Waiter was cordial and patient with grand childrens changing choices. Proximity to hotels very good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Apple Pancake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were able to visit Ricky's this week (3/12/13) and were not disappointed in the yummy (Dutch) Apple Pancake we had. It was light and fluffy and did not go flat! It is not like anyother pancake you may have had. This is more like a short cake than an flat pancake, with a wonderful topping of apples which had a glaze of cinnamon and sugar all over the top and dripping down the sides. It was a very large pancake enough to share with my daughter. The coffee was very good as well.

We stayed at the LaQuinta Inn which was a short drive to Ricky's. Can be seen from Interstate 8 on south side.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food after a long trip and right next to our hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the comfort inn and ate there when we checked in. Great food....French toast awesome. Did have the apple pancakes.....takes 35 mins to make it. Was good, but not something to write home about. Kids meals don't come with a drink and are a little overpriced. But nice place to eat when u are staying at the comfort inn.....busy area and difficult to get around even with a GPS.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ricky's Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ricky's Family Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.