We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phuong Trang Restaurant

Phuong Trang Restaurant
4170 Convoy St, San Diego, CA 92111-3702
858-565-6750
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,023 of 4,050 restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Let me start by saying my experiences with asian food in the USA has been hit and miss despite positive reviews like this place has. But I must say it was a very pleasant surprise! Decor was a little dated, but so what? A restaurant is all about the food and this place delivers. My wife had a vermicelli bowl, I had a rice plate, and my son had pho. The vermicelli and rice were just okay. I ordered mine with egg, but when I got my plate there was no egg to be found. Flavor was nothing exceptional, but tasty. The pho was actually quite good. My son ate pretty much all of his meal.

The kicker though was the eggroll appy. At first we didn't know what to do with the plate of lettuce and mint and cilantro that came to the plate initially, but fortunately the table next to ours ordered the same thing and we saw them wrapping the eggrolls in the leafy greens and so we did the same. My word what a flavor experience! A perfect blend of hot, crunchy, fresh, and crispy with bursts of mint and cilantro. It was so good we ordered another!

Service was also good as our water glasses were never empty. But really you want to go to this place for the eggrolls...nothing but the eggrolls...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    9
    13
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Now that's what an eggroll should taste like...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Crispy, crunchy, fresh, and hot....that's how they should taste and that's what they serve here. None of that soggy, pale, stuffed-with-unidentifiable-ingredients that other Asian restaurants serve. They topped off my Vermicelli noodle bowl so beautifully, and complimented the grilled pork skewers. Disappointed in the nuoc mam sauce though, as I found it a bit bland. The other fantastic part of the meal was my husband's Vietnamese iced coffee. Many places bring it to the table with the coffee already stirred up in a glass of ice, already diluted when it arrives at the table. This place serves it the authentic way...a stainless steel pot of coffee grounds dripping into the ceramic coffee cup below, piping hot and fragrant. A chilled glass of ice waits by it's side...when you are ready, you pour the coffee over the ice yourself, and the lovely condensed milk mixes in with the coffee, all swirly and beautiful over the frozen ice...and you get to drink it before it becomes diluted. So, so yummy!! I can't tolerate the caffeine level, but I did try a spoonful and the flavor was divine. We enjoyed the chicken wing appetizers with chili and green onion...they were hot, crunchy, not greasy, though the wings themselves were a little "fatty". Atmosphere is bright, clean, and service was quick. Diner demographics were approximately 50% Asian, 50% non-Asian. Plenty of parking, easy to find, right off Convoy. Definitely deserves a return visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good Enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I looked up reviews for Pho all the way up and down Convoy. This place got the best reviews, so I decided to give it a try for take-out. I went in at 4:30, so there wasn't anyone there. The staff was very friendly, and I got my usual, Pho with rare steak and tripe. One of the servers gave me water while I was waiting, which was nice. It took about 10 minutes, maybe a little less. Its the standard price, $6.75 or so, which is awesome.

When I got home, I was impressed by the amount of meat and tripe they put in. There was a lot of all the goodies, which made me very happy :) The soup was still really hot and easy to set up. The only disappointment about this place was the broth. I was surprised because all the reviews said it was great. I mean it wasn't bad, it was just...lame. The only thing I can think of is that with the weird time I went in, they might have been making a new batch in between lunch and dinner service, and it didn't have enough time to settle or something.

I will definitely give this place another chance. If the broth was just a little better, it would be my go-to Pho place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Real Vietnamese food in San Diego”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The food is fantastic!!!

It was recommended by a friend that is a chines descendant young woman whose parents were from Vietnam.

There are some experiences that remains forever in your life. This is one of them in my own.

It is located around 10 minutes far from the downtown area but worths every single minutes and gas spent to get there.

I cannot remember the names but wrapping vegetables with your own hands and eating is amazing.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Vietnamese food in San Diego”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We have tried many Vietnamese restaurants in San Diego, and Phuong Trang is by far have the most and authentic menu. Besides the typical pho, vermencelli noodles, they have other varieties of dishes - such as 7 course beef, crepe, and rice-wrapper.

It is not a fancy place nor with the best service. However, it offers many dishes that I can't find without going all the way north to Little Saigon in Orange County.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phuong Trang Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Phuong Trang Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phuong Trang Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.