We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb BBQ!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phil's BBQ

Phil's BBQ
3750 Sports Arena Blvd, San Diego, CA 92110-5129
619-226-6333
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 4,094 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: For the past thirteen years, BBQ lovers across San Diego County have turned to restaurateur Phil Pace to satisfy a singular craving: mesquite-grilled baby back ribs, beef ribs, chicken and sandwiches. Serving thousands of customers a day from a diverse clientele of skateboarders to Bentleys, Phil has built his foundation on consistency, quality, freshness, and friendly service. "We thrive on providing each guest with the 'Phil's Experience', which basically comes down to organized chaos," laughs owner Phil Pace. "The biggest reason behind our success is our loyal customers who have supported us and waited in line for a taste of BBQ for the past fifteen years. "Since opening its doors in San Diego in 1998, Phil's BBQ has served over one million pounds of BBQ sauce (enough to fill Shamu's tank).
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Superb BBQ!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Amazing ribs! Delicious potato salad! Yummmmm! The line is like nothing I've ever seen & if it hadn't been for a friends email from Phil's to get in front of the line I would have left.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,015
    374
    116
    21
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Changzhou, China
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beefy Ribs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

If you've never had the Beefy Ribs, well - time to get in and try some. They will change what you think of as a rib.Hands down best BBQ around. This place will have a line out the door quick so get there early. The food and system is amazing. A must try when in Diego.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome beefy ribs ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

The good is amazing, almost everything is.. The only I hate is the wait time, omg their line is always around the restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Go to Phils BBQ, all arguments against are invalid!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Phil's BBQ, totally AWESOME!
So let me start with the very long chain of people before Phil's. Yeah it is a bit deterrent, but the wait is more than worthy. I dont have to wait long because we were 5 people and there was a staff member that asked if there were a group of 5 people to come in. So we take the chance and get in after 10 minutes, but it is not common. Ordering the food and drinks go really fast and we get our food and drinks also really fast. And then the food, oh my god! It tasted so good, i had the Baby Back Rib, full rib version and its enough for me. For those who don't like ribs,they also have really good chicken and there is a plate that includes ribs and chicken.
So there are no more words, go there,eat ribs,be happy :).

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The line is worth the wait!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Great BBQ (our favorite meal of the trip), huge portions, relaxed atmosphere for a group, including kids. Total gem off the main roads you may be visiting but very close to the freeway and easy to get to. Yum!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phil's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Phil's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phil's BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.