We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mission Restaurant

The Mission Restaurant
3795 Mission Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Beach)
(858) 488-9060
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 3,682 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Mission Beach
Casa Grande, Arizona
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Great breakfast! They make a cinnamon bread french toast that is absolutely wonderful! Service was very good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    66
    16
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“A San Diego institution in Mission Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

There are 3 locations in San Diego, but this is the original. A fantastic spot right in the heart of the beach community -- head across the street to the water right after. Great, hearty breakfasts (pancakes!). Lunch is served too, but the breakfast is why you come. Gluten friendly options too. Popular with locals, so come early to avoid a long wait.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Innovative menu options, very tasty, good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

What a great breakfast joint! Everyone from our group of 4 enjoyed their meal thoroughly and all of it was excellent! Pancakes were extremely fluffy. Rosemary potatoes were great and just as good when we re-heated them (had to take our leftovers). Eggs were great as was the Breakfast Burrito. Had their coffee which was very good, too. Wish we tried their French Toast as the table next to us had it they were taking pictures of it!

Attentive wait staff made for pleasurable experience despite it being a pretty busy summer Sunday meal. Even the hostess was spot on with their time estimate of how long to wait.

The biggest detriment, but not enough to downgrade is the parking, or lack thereof. It can be a challenge to find parking, but we were lucky to park across the street in the self-pay lot.

Will definitely return!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I love breakfast and they really know how to make breakfast. I believe they even had a gluten free option for those with gluten sensitivity.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Excellent breakfast, probably the best pancakes that I ever had. We also tried the lunch one day. My wife ordered the club with gluten free bread which was pretty good but after a few minutes the waiter returned to check the food and realized that the sandwich had regular bread. He did apologize and brought back the correct order (also subtracted $5 from the bill) but my wife did get sick from it. Parking is a little pain but overall we were happy with the place and recommend it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mission Restaurant also viewed

San Diego, CA
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to The Mission Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mission Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.