We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mission Cafe & Coffee House

Mission Cafe & Coffee House
3795 Mission Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Beach)
(858) 488-9060
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 4,133 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Neighborhood: Mission Beach
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great breakfast spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Fun menu, good service and delicious food. I'd definitely return for breakfast. Hard to choose from all the menu options!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    59
    16
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very good breakfast. Reasonable price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Rated No. 10 restaurant so, we decided to go for breakfast. Although parking is an issue since it is one block from the beach, it was well worth it. We enjoyed a very large order of three blueberry pancakes the hash steak and potatoes with rosemary bread. While the steak was not to my liking - I prefer corn beef hash - it was good. I thought the potatoes were very good as well as the bread. So, if not for so many other breakfast restaurants rated highly, we would go back. Really enjoyed it and recommend it highly especially because the price was reasonable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermantown, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Eclectic and Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Yuppy, but not. Interesting and eclectic for sure. The banana granola pancakes are tasty and beautiful.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Went for breakfast with my family. Long line (usually a good sign) that moved quickly. The bright and fresh interior was packed, but not crowded. The Mission has a varied menu with a lot of options. Service was prompt and friendly. Food had ample portions, top-notch presentation, and even better taste. Only regret is that we did not find this gem earlier in our trip. If you're driving, note that finding a street parking spot can be a challenge. There's a pay lot across the street if (when) you give up.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jena, Germany
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Brilliant food, excellent ambiance and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Went for a brunch with a friend. They were super packed but were were lucky to to find a table quickly. Numerous options for Breakfast. The two of us shared CHICKEN APPLE SAUSAGE & EGGS and BLUEBERRY PANCAKES and that was so much food that we had to literally drag ourselves out. Excellent food that was very tastefully presented. Great coffee as well! Oh and the staff was wonderful. Our served saw on the feedback card that we were visiting from Germany and immediately stuck up a conversation in broken German - turns out he was an exchange student in Germany once. Such a positive experience overall! Finding a parking spot close to the cafe is tricky though.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mission Cafe & Coffee House also viewed

 

Been to Mission Cafe & Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mission Cafe & Coffee House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.