We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good restaurant before play” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Gran Tapa

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Gran Tapa
611 B St, San Diego, CA 92101-4306 (Downtown)
619-338-9855
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,680 of 4,100 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $35 - $35
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
San Diego
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“good restaurant before play”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Sister-in-law and I went to this restaurant before going to see Memphis at the Civic Theatre. The restaurant's website advertised free parking and gave directions on how to find it. We got there at 4:45pm, easily found the parking garage and walked to the restaurant. When we got inside the bartender told us they had no cook, and the menu was limited. We looked at the menu and decided on 5 different tapas. The tapas seemed to have come right out of the frig. so they were nothing special, but the house Merlot and Sangria were good and generous portions. We had to run to the theatre to make it there at 6pm. For the limited amount of time we had the restaurant served the purpose. Best of all they validated the parking ticket.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    15
    4
    2
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Authentic Spanish Food with a Lovely Flamenco show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

My fiancee and I came here on a Friday night specifically for the Flamenco shows they put on every Friday. We shared a meat paella and got our food promptly and had wonderful service.The paella was fantastic and very much like the paella in Spain which I visited earlier this year. We got to see a wonderful 45 min. Flamenco show and were really entertained by the cool bohemian, gypsy like atmosphere that this place emits. The people there are friendly, as well as the fun but boisterous customers who seem to be regulars. Aside from the food, this place is authentic to Europe because of the laid back service that's not so in-your-face the way Americans serve. Overall this was a great experience and we can't wait to come back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“very Good paella”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

i love this place, the paella was very good and the tapas were also very good, service is great(they do automatically add 18 percent)

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Tapa Bar Downtown SD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Great happy hour prices for tasty tapas and nice piano bar music on thursday nights!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“Not what it once was”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Over the past 15+ years, we used to frequently eat at La Gran Tapa for lunch, dinner and/or happy hour, especially before shows at the Civic. However, in recent years, it has consisently gotten worse and worse.

The last time I ate there, I decided I'm not coming back (I've said that several times over the years, but this time I'm serious). The food is not good - it either is uninteresting and flavorless or too heavy, and the service is generally slow and unresponsive.

It's a shame. I wish they would bring the quality of the food and service up to where it once was.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Gran Tapa also viewed

 

Been to La Gran Tapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Gran Tapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.