We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good German Food & Beer Experience - HUGE German beer selection” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kaiserhof Restaurant & Biergarten

Kaiserhof Restaurant & Biergarten
2253 Sunset Cliffs Blvd, San Diego, CA 92107 (Ocean Beach)
(619) 224-0606
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #398 of 4,100 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Ocean Beach
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good German Food & Beer Experience - HUGE German beer selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Very much enjoyed a meal among friends here. It was delightful to see so many familiar beers from my time living in and around Germany. The good was authentic - perhaps not quite as good as being there, but considering we were in San Diego, I'd give this an enthusiastic thumbs up.

Very helpful and attentive staff, left full, satisfied and pleased with the experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    21
    7
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great German Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The place is kind of old but their food is excellent. We were 3 people ordering several different dishes, and ALL were delicious. The waitress very helpful and patient.
Their herring is super, and so are the schnitzels and the wieners.
The German beer was so good and their apple strudel too.
The area is not very nice in Point Loma, but it's worth it .

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I am German myself and always wanted to stop in here and eat. Got to go this past Saturday night. The food was good, but I remember my moms was better. Not to say that this was not good as it was. Parking could be sticky, but luckily we found a spot. All and all we had a nice visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“An authentic taste of Germany!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

During a recent Conference my colleagues went to a great German restaurant! I figured it must be authentic as I heard folks at another table speaking in German and others with a German accent. Needless to say the food was great!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best German food in SD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Awesome place! I had a Wiener Schnitzel that was better than 90% of the Wiener Schnitzels that I had in Germany/Austria. Also the place has a very nice atmosphere and a nice selection of beers and other traditional German meals!
Highly recommended!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Kaiserhof Restaurant & Biergarten also viewed

 

Been to Kaiserhof Restaurant & Biergarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaiserhof Restaurant & Biergarten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.