We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ghirardelli Ice Cream & Chocolate Shop

Ghirardelli Ice Cream & Chocolate Shop
643 5th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6915 (Downtown)
619-234-2449
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #92 of 4,100 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Downtown
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
379 reviews 379 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“Always good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

If you like ice cream then this is the place for you. We lived in California for six years and I swear that out of all the things there were to love, this is what my husband misses most!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    63
    30
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Awesome American Style Sundae”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We stopped by every night before we head back to hotel. And my kid like the friendly server and free chocolate most!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Rock n Roll post race reward”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

What could be better than a huge Ghirardelli Hot Fudge Sundae as a reward surviving a marathon? Free samples of their best chocolates make the short wait even sweeter.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Seriously just an everyday sundae”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

The product couldn't look any mor different than the picture unless you didn't use ice cream at all. I mean this is ice cream so it's still tasty.. But for $9 bucks it should be more than average. I won't pay that again. Go for the chocolate squares and pick up a half gallon of Safeway brand and some sauce on the way home. You won't know the difference.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijuana, Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing chocolate!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

The sundae with brownie in the bottom is to die for! I love te outside lights, too. It's open late so that's super awesome if you suffer a sudden urge for delicious high- quality chocolate :D

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ghirardelli Ice Cream & Chocolate Shop also viewed

 

Been to Ghirardelli Ice Cream & Chocolate Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ghirardelli Ice Cream & Chocolate Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.