We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Extraordinary Desserts

Extraordinary Desserts
2929 5th Ave, San Diego, CA 92103-5919
619-294-2132
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 4,065 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Dessert, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
A TripAdvisor Member
“Extraordinary food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014 NEW

Best turkey sandwich,house coffee was one of the best and of course dessert was out of this world.we loved everything about the food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    134
    45
    25
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stopped in after a quick stop in Little Italy. She had the Neapolitan and I had the blood orange ricotta cake. Both were stellar! The service was great as well. Can't go wrong here. Plenty to choose from. Pricey but worth it. More than enough to share as well.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Yum, Yum & Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

Extraordinary experience! Upon arrival you check in with the hostess and then you are allowed to go in and begin to browse the display cases filled with beautifully presented desserts. Choosing only one is not an easy job. It appeared that we would be waiting for quite a while but we were called to our table after only 10 minutes or so. There are lots of tables so turnover is pretty quick. There were 4 of us dining and everything we had was amazing. Service was quick and I would definitely go back again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Overrated and overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

I'm a big dessert fan but this place does not meet my standards.
The cafe ambience was so so and there's no air conditioning,(is hot day at 85 degrees and humid) The cakes were beautiful but serving presentation was sub standard. I ordered the tirimisu and a cappuccino. The cake was mushy and taste nothing like tirimisu. Too much money for a slice and cappuccino was bad.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“I Wish They Had a Dessert Place Like This in LA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

Almost every time we're in San Diego, we have to make a stop here for dessert. Sometimes we dine in, mostly to go. The prices are high, lines are long, parking isn't free or close by. But it's usually worth the trouble.

My wife just loves the desserts here, I'm not a big dessert person but I'll go for a good piece of cheesecake now and then. Probably the best cheesecake I've had was the Dulce de Leche cheesecake, very rich, but so good.

The presentation is great, everything looks so good. We haven't had a bad dish yet. I always tell my friends to go when they're in town and most of them love it.

They have to expand further North so we can go more often.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Extraordinary Desserts also viewed

 

Been to Extraordinary Desserts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extraordinary Desserts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.