We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Extraordinary Desserts

Extraordinary Desserts
2929 5th Ave, San Diego, CA 92103-5919
619-294-2132
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 4,053 restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Dessert, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
San Diego, California
1 review
“A bit disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

If my taste buds were in my eyes this place would be off the charts. No doubt about it these desserts are showstoppers but when it comes to taste there is something lacking. I've been here twice (shared several desserts with friends) thinking that I just hadn't found the right dessert but I keep walking away feeling robbed of a satisfying indulgence. The cake is dry and the favor is not as robust as you'd expect. On those rare occasions when you allow yourself to throw caution to the wind and really dive into a decadent dessert I'd look elsewhere. There are a lot more options that will make both your taste buds and your wallet happy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    269
    132
    42
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very good gluten free desserts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

This place was amazing to look at. The counter was full of wonderful concoctions all beautifully preserved with edible flower petals & even gold leaf. The cakes themselves looked so good as well.

My wife and I are gluten intolerant so it was refreshing that there were about 6 options we could have. As a group we all ordered these so we could all share and they were very good. A little too sickly sweet for my palate overall but I still enjoyed them. Everyone else loved them. I would recommend a scoop of ice cream to tone it down which one person in our group did & in my opinion heightened the experience greatly. Having said that they were very good & I wish there were a shop doing as good gluten free desserts near where I live!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Exquisite Desserts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Went here kinda late one night and thrilled they were open. Had the most divine chocolate cake with white chocolate sauce. It was moist and truly divine! I think this is a great place for a night cap:)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Desserts Out There!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Oh my this was wonderful. We were on vacation in California and I read about this place. I loved the selection and I believe it was the best place I have ever been to for desserts and the best desserts I have ever had! The only thing I wish is that they shipped their cakes out of state because I would already be ordering one or two! If you love desserts you must go!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Sugar heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We went to the store on 5th Ave and had such a great experience we went back again. The store was cute and the cashier was super-friendly - that made a big difference in a first impression to see such beautiful desserts AND have such a friendly person greet us.

It was definitely eye candy to look at all the desserts in the case. The cashier told us we were there during "Happy Hour" and could get a dessert and coffee for $10. Heck, yeah, we splurged and got TWO happy hour orders. The presentation was gorgeous. I got a banana and whipped cream dessert (sorry, can't recall name), and my husband got some type of cheesecake. We weren't able to finish our desserts. I really wanted to try the ricotta cakes and planned to when I came back, but, understandably, they change the menu daily. We split a tres leches on our next visit. It was tasty, but a bit sweet for me. My husband got a brownie to go. Talk about chocolate OD in the best kind of way!

I looked at the cake menu and saw so many yummy descriptions. My vacation, however, came to an end (and my waistline was no doubt grateful for this!).

I'd wholeheartedly recommend going at least once on your visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Extraordinary Desserts also viewed

 

Been to Extraordinary Desserts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extraordinary Desserts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.