We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sugar heaven!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Extraordinary Desserts

Extraordinary Desserts
2929 5th Ave, San Diego, CA 92103-5919
619-294-2132
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 133 Dessert in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Sugar heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We went to the store on 5th Ave and had such a great experience we went back again. The store was cute and the cashier was super-friendly - that made a big difference in a first impression to see such beautiful desserts AND have such a friendly person greet us.

It was definitely eye candy to look at all the desserts in the case. The cashier told us we were there during "Happy Hour" and could get a dessert and coffee for $10. Heck, yeah, we splurged and got TWO happy hour orders. The presentation was gorgeous. I got a banana and whipped cream dessert (sorry, can't recall name), and my husband got some type of cheesecake. We weren't able to finish our desserts. I really wanted to try the ricotta cakes and planned to when I came back, but, understandably, they change the menu daily. We split a tres leches on our next visit. It was tasty, but a bit sweet for me. My husband got a brownie to go. Talk about chocolate OD in the best kind of way!

I looked at the cake menu and saw so many yummy descriptions. My vacation, however, came to an end (and my waistline was no doubt grateful for this!).

I'd wholeheartedly recommend going at least once on your visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mmhaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Twentynine Palms, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Desserts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I was visiting San Diego to celebrate happy occasions with some friends. After enjoying a nice dinner, we left room for dessert. We initially drove by Extraordinary Desserts on Union Street and the line outside was absolutely ridiculous. I could not believe that so many people would be standing in a line after 8pm for dessert. We didn't want to wait there so we went to the location on 5th Ave and found a line there as well. I think we were in line for about 40 minutes before we were able to place our order. As we were waiting in line, two of us went to take a look at the display case so that when we got to the front we would know what to order. It seems like deciding what to get is one of the reasons for such a long line. They have so many eye appealing options that you really cannot decide what you want. The four of us ALL enjoyed our desserts and now understand why the lines are so darn long. I gave them four circles because of the wait time and I think the slices could be a little bigger for the price.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DoogieHowser4858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Food looks better than it tastes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Interesting concept. Had dinner followed by desserts. The tomoato soup was savory and excellent; sandwiches good, as well. Dips such as pimiento cheese and hummus were just ok. Coffee was not up to par. Our party shared three desserts including carrot cake, brownie, and a breadfast pastry. They were all tasty, but just not outstanding by any means--no better than any other restaurant dessers.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mambolimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shangri-La”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I am well traveled, and this is the best dessert place in the United States. My wonderful aunt purchased our wedding cake here in 2008, and our friends and family are still raving about how we had the best wedding cake ever!! If you want to make someone feel like royalty, this is the best birthday gift you could possibly get.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marisela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
243 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Luscious decadence, and not cheap...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Splurge on the treats, and it is still less than a full fancy meal. The store is itself a treat for the eyes, noveau industrial with super cool doors and low key ambiance. The displays show baked goods that please the eye and the palate. We enjoyed the strudel and danish, and the service was good. We were at an off hour and had no waiting. Fun and recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carfull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Extraordinary Desserts also viewed

 

Been to Extraordinary Desserts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing