We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect date spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Brava

Costa Brava
1653 Garnet Ave, San Diego, CA 92109-3117 (Pacific Beach)
858-273-1218
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #406 of 4,100 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Pacific Beach
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect date spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is my husband and my favorite date spot. Delicious food and sangrias, and a very romantic atmosphere. It's a bit hard to find if you don't know where it is (let's face it, the entire restaurant is hidden by a gigantic shrubbery), but once you go you'll be glad you did!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    28
    8
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good tapas but tables/chairs are too close together”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We've always had pretty good service here. Reasonably tasty tapas. We often order seafood tapas and entrees. Wish it's a bit more spacious though. The dining chairs are a bit too lightweight and the tables are a bit too closely put together. One time the diner who sat next to our table sat up from his chair. He had slung a bag across the back of his chair. The chair immediately fell down from the weight of his bag the minute he stood up, and the back of the chair hit a few of my fingers as I was dining on my little table. Ouch. My affected fingers turned red for a few hours. The positioning of the tables and chairs could be improved. The ambience tends to be a bit noisy as well, but consistent the general Pacific Beach atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We really wanted to like this place so we could have a nearby place for great tapas and paella. Unfortunately, we found it very average and probably will not return, especially at these prices. Having been to Spain, maybe our expectations were too high. Tapas should be clean in flavor and fresh. The selection we ordered were neither and just not memorable. It was followed by a mushy paella. The service was unfriendly, almost anoyed with us, even through we kept our complaints to ourselves. The bar seems to be very popular.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“When you can't get to Spain...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

What a lovely spot! First, the ambience is delightful - skylit dining room or covered outdoor patio. Second, the service - twice we have had Alan - is thoughtful and professional and you can even try out your knowledge of the Spanish language. But, the main star are the tapas. We've tried a variety of the hot and cold tapas on two visits - very authentic. In fact, there are some traditional tapas which aren't listed on the menu so be sure to ask if you have a favorite.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Authentic Spanish Tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We eat at Costa Brava every time we are in San Diego. The food is not cheap, but the tapas are an excellent representation of what one get when dining in Spain. It is also well worth checking out their store next door.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Costa Brava also viewed

 

Been to Costa Brava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Brava, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.