We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great tapas and live flamenco on Sunday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Brava

Costa Brava
1653 Garnet Ave, San Diego, CA 92109-3117 (Pacific Beach)
858-273-1218
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #405 of 4,100 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Pacific Beach
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great tapas and live flamenco on Sunday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

there aren't that many great tapas places (authentic) in SD, so to say this place is the best one does not say much, but it is still the best one. It is owened by a Spaniard and most Spaniards in the city come here, they serve Pata Negra (the best type of Jamon Iberico) which not many places here do; the tapas are delicious and truelly authentic. If you go on Sunday evening they have live flamenco; this is a casual place with wooden tables just like in Barcelona.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    28
    8
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Homemade Sangria, Delicious Authentic Tapas and Music!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I have never been disappointed in the 10 times I have gone here. The tapas are fresh and amazingly delicious, the Sangria is refreshing and flavorful and the bartender or waiters are friendly. Delicious pollo (chicken) tapas, the steak is always cooked to perfection, the potatoes with aioli is to die for, the OX tail - a delicacy, escargot great flavorful mix with sauce to dip bread in. I am hungry just thinking about that place. I also recommend the roasted peppers tapa.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very good!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The food and the service where very good. not to expensive. the place itself is nice but the location is not the best. this place will be perfect on the boardwalk.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The waiter actually told us there was no cold water available”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

What a waste of time and money and a big dissapointment! After two tries to find the place, we arrived for our reservation right on time, but were seated in a way back room with only two other tables in the room. The host seated us and then we didn't see any of the waiters for about ten minutes...like they forgot we were back there. Once the waiter brought us the menus and water, he left and didn't come back again for another ten minutes, but the carafe of water was quite warm - like the carafe was just out of the dishwasher and the tap water he added to it warmed everything up. When he did finally come back I asked if he could bring us some cold water and he actually said they were "out of cold water tonight"! That should have set the tone for us but expecting a good dinner with the Tapas, we went ahead and ordered. The food was mediocre, but some pieces were excellent. The Manchenco Cheese plate was wonderful and went well with the wine I ordered but the service never did improve. To add insult to our experience, the waiter added an 18% gratutity to our bill and told us it was restaurant policy. We really felt as though we were hoodwinked...the worst table in the house, the worst service they could provide and demanding an unfair gratutity. It's too bad because we were told this was a great place to enjoy the tapas of spain...what we got was a real pain!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Spanish Cusine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Costa Brava in Pacific Beach is a really good Spanish (not Mexican) restaurant. We discovered this restaurant a little over a year ago and have returned many times. The food is excellent...very representative of what can be found in Spain...and the staff is wonderful. Their attentive, friendly service makes one feel as if they have been transported to Spain. My wife and I lived in Spain years ago and have visited there many time since. Costa Brava is the closest we have come to being able to sample the dishes we miss so much. Kudos to a great restaurant, great chef, and great staff. Their small Spanish grocery store, Pata Negra, a few doors down the street is also worth a visit for authentic ingredients for Spanish paella, chorizo, manchego...and other cheeses, olives, and a wide variety of other delicious items from Spain. We love to shop there!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Costa Brava also viewed

 

Been to Costa Brava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Brava, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.