We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old School DIner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Corvette Diner

Corvette Diner
2965 Historic Decatur Road, San Diego, CA 92106-6179
6195421476
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #274 of 3,981 restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Old School DIner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

If your nastalgic for the 50's and 60's, this a nice place to visit with the kids. Serivice is good and the burgers and shakes are pretty good. They have a game room off to the side for kids to have a little fun while waiting for food or burn off their food. It is in the old NTC center so it may be hard to find since all the the buildings look alike. I miss the old location in Hillcrest but this location has better parking.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    106
    88
    49
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“No reservations here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

They don't take reservations so if you are here at prime time dinner hour plan on waiting, especially if your party is bigger than 4. We waited for what seemed like forever. The kids were happy to play in the arcade for a while, but even they grew hungry and just wanted to eat. Plan your visit for less busy times the diner is cute and the food was good, but the wait has us thinking we probably won't go back, unless it is a school day.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
us
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Kickback to the 50's and 60's.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Location, food awesome, ambiance, poodle skirts and all! Service/ staff was excellent. Keep doing it right!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Let me start this review by saying we were visiting friends in San Diego before a cruise and they took us to Corvette Diner after our flight arrived for lunch. I was not really expecting to much, but I have to say it was really nice and the food was very good. The waitstaff was very helpful and put us in a room separated from most of the noise so we could talk to our friends. My wife and I split the Hogan's Hero Hoagie and it was very very good. Then we each got a milkshake. The milkshake was the best milkshake I have had since I was a kid in the 50's.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“What a fun place.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner here after a long day at LegoLand. The kids were rejuvenated by the fun atmosphere. The waiters and waitresses sing and dance 50's era songs. Great burgers.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corvette Diner also viewed

 

Been to Corvette Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corvette Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.