We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed review” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro D'asia

Bistro D'asia
1301 Orange Ave., San Diego, CA 92118-2916
619-437-6677
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #932 of 3,702 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A mixed review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We had a terrific (!) Calamari salad that we shared. We also had a number of sushi rolls. They were only OK. I was surprised that there was no Japanese sushi chef. We were very put-off when what appeared to be a customer went behind the sushi station (talking to the "chefs") and started picking up food and sampling it with his fingers. Some of my friends that were there go often and love it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    28
    14
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Excellent Asian cuisine! Sushi fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Ate here last night,

Very quiet, but the restaurant has a nice ambience. Lots of tables which I'm sure are packed out in High Season.

I ordered duck pancakes which were lovely, and just the right size.
For my main I ordered the sushi.
Would highly recommend the Coronado Roll. 10pcs- containing Crab, shrimp, salmon, avocado and other bits.
Gorgeous and not as fishy tasting as it sounds. Anyway too big to finish so took the rest home.

The wine list is also pretty good too.
Our server enjoyed the fact we were Irish. He had a couple of jokes involving paddy Irishmen. His Witt was far funnier tho, and one remark had us laughing for about 10mins. Quite a character.

A really positive experience, and would highly recommend!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Love the happy hour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Sat outside, had a few food selections, which were very reasonable on their happy hour menu, like a rainbow roll and spicy salmon. Was able to try a few things I have never ordered before. Also had a great martini made with cold saki and Chambord. Very relaxing. Service was great!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Sleep Easy, Panda Express”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I suppose I should start by saying we didn't have sushi & maybe that's their strength. We did, however, have way over-cooked vegetables that had some vaguely Szechwan sauce & orange chicken that was supposed to be spicy but wasn't. It was tough, though. So was the rice. The tea was very good, & so was the service. But if you're looking for authentic Chinese, don't come here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not good at all”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Not good at all! Not real chinese cuisine! All the food is the same taste. No chinese cooker. But the stuffs are very friendly!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Bistro D'asia also viewed

 

Been to Bistro D'asia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro D'asia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.