We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally loved the whole experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bertrand at Mister A'S

Bertrand at Mister A'S
2550 5th Ave, Ste 406, San Diego, CA 92103-6622
619-239-1377
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bertrand at Mister A'S is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #64 of 3,683 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $60
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Totally loved the whole experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We were not sure if it was going to be "all that" until we arrived. There are sooo many restaurants in San Diego and sooo many opinions! Service was impeccable - food was PERFECT (I had escargots and duck and they were both mouth watering delicacies) and the view was outstanding!
Would I recommend this experience?? You bet!! Such a treat!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    96
    39
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful In Every Way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I was with a large party on business. Drinks and appetizers on the balcony were wonderful. The scenery at sunset was amazing, and the airplanes flying by mere blocks away provides a great thrill!

The food and service were second-to-none. We were treated to a three-course meal that was inspiring and mouthwatering. Other reviewers found it to be a snobbish environment, I found it quite the contrary as it was what I would expect from an establishment that prides itself in both its food and its service. I would return!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Excellent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Everything was perfect. Food was superb. Atmosphere, view, service!
I was concerned about the price point, but everything was stellar. Highly recommend. We would definitely return if we lived in area.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Finest Dining in San Diego”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Not your typical "fancy restaurant"! A whole new level of dining that incorporates the meal itself as well as unmatched service and attention to detail. Our waiter knew the menu and the evening's specials front to back - including the finer details such as the garnish, sauce contents, cooking processes, etc. Very impressive. My wine glass never went empty. Food was served hot without being overcooked. Timing between 1st and 2nd courses was perfect - allowing me and my companions plenty of opportunities for conversation and to fully enjoy the dining experience.
The restaurant is on the top floor (15th?) of a bank tower in the downtown area and presents scenic views of the city for tables along the window. A private elevator takes you from the ground floor to the lobby of the restaurant. All of our staff were professional, knowledgeable, yet willing to share a laugh with our party.
Dinner is a two course affair that starts with fresh hot rolls and creamy butter. My night's 1st course was the escargot in a delicious garlic butter. Cooked perfectly - tender and screaming hot! Second course was an impressive seafood paella - muscles, clams, calamari and scampi. Did not have dessert, but offerings around the table included fresh sorbets and a chocolate torte.
Save this place for special occasions or when you have a couple hundred bucks burning a hole in your pocket (for 2 with wine or cocktails) and want to really spoil yourself! But, after the sticker shock settles, enjoy yourself and savor the magnificent flavors!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“1st Class all the way!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We were entertaining customers from New Zealand, Canada & Mexico. We were concerned with being able to keep everyone satisfied & happy. The service, the food, the selection of wines & even the view (of overlooking the San Diego skyline) supersede our expectations! We had a fabulous evening & would definitely recommend it! As a matter of fact, we went back the next night with a different group of customers!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bertrand at Mister A'S also viewed

 

Been to Bertrand at Mister A'S? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bertrand at Mister A'S, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.