We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley to your Saves list
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
2151 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108 (Mission Valley / Hotel Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2X HHonors Points!
Ranked #36 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Really nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights for Comic-Con. Shuttle was right next door. Really nice room and the breakfast area was nice and large and able to handle everyone unlike a few other Hampton Inns we have stayed at. Would definitely stay here again if we are ever in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    67
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
77
48
2
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The hotel was nice for a Hampton. The fire pit wasn't operable and the pool was much too cold to enjoy, so that was a bummer. We were looking forward to the fire pit and our kids wanted us to swim with them. It was difficult given the temperature to enjoy the swim. Also, the facilities needed some cleaning up on the exterior of the hotel. There was lots of trash on the floor and in the planters outside. The breakfast was average. Oatmeal was inedible and everything else was just so-so, however it was free and I can't complain too much about a free breakfast. I'd suggest they get some real half and half though instead of those Coffee Mate creamers. Everything else was good. The hotel is newer so the room was clean and the bed was comfy. The kids enjoyed the hotel and it is definitely a family hotel. We stayed in a room facing the dive motel next to us, so the view from the room wasn't super, but for the price and location it was fine.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I brought my family here and everyone was very satisfied with the hotel. The staff was very friendly and courteous. It's a brand new hotel, so it's hard to criticize anything. It is located on Hotel Circle, which is very close to a lot of good destinations such as Old Town.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is a great addition to the Hilton family in Mission Valley, near San Diego....the new hotel has all the latest amenities....it's higher caliber than most Hampton's I've stayed at, more like a Hilton or Doubletree minus the restaurant and bar....so unless those are a must, you should love this. Ew hotel

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

This HI location is nice because it is new. Like its pool and hot tub as well. Breakfast is actually the same as that served in other HI locations.

As it's new, there is no AAA/CAA discount yet. Building material seems to be cheaper too, resulting in poor sound isolation. Got awaken early morning every day by footsteps upstairs and traffic noise from the highway nearby.

One day we bought some jumping beans. As they jump from time to time and make noise, I put them in a brown paper bag, folded the bag neatly in half and put it in the bathroom, with my toiletry bag sitting on top. Unfortunately, the second day after we came back to the room, the bag was taken away. Guess the maid mistakenly thought it was a trash bag. - Why would be a trash bag kept nicely under a toiletry bag anyway? Plus the trash can is right next to it.

I talked to the front desk. No finding as expected. When I checked out a couple of days later, I mentioned to the same staff member, still no finding. Both times, no apology offered.

Room Tip: Maybe rooms farther away from the highway and at higher floors will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnMV, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Hello Henli0604,
Please accept our sincere apologies for any frustration you experienced on your recent stay at our hotel. We strive to make every guests' stay a pleasant one from check-in to check-out through quality service and amenities. We regret this was not your impression. We will use your comments as part of our ongoing service training and hope you will give us another opportunity to show you the quality stay you deserve should you return to our area in the future.

Additionally, if you would kindly contact me at tiffanyc@hamptoninnmv.com or at 619-794-1305, it would be my pleasure to replace the jumping beans you purchased during your trip to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, KS
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Our family of four (two adults and two kids) stayed in this hotel during the week of July 20th. The hotel is brand new and the design seems more modern than the standard Hampton Inn. I would highly recommend this hotel for families, couples, or people traveling on business. Here is a summary of the (mostly) pros and cons:

Pros:
- new, attractive design (both the exterior and interior)
- large, inviting public spaces (lobby, breakfast area, etc.)
- very good breakfast options (better than average for a Hampton Inn)
- nice pool and hot tub area with large beach towels
- centrally located for visiting different areas in or near San Diego
- quiet rooms

Cons:
- very few dining options nearby -- definitely will need a car to get around
- very small parking spaces

Room Tip: I would recommend a room away from the elevator and ice machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We recently stayed at this location for a last minute trip to San Diego. I was thrilled that this hotel had not raised their prices just because it was Comic Con weekend.

Rooms - The room was very clean and the beds were quite comfortable. The rooms are not huge but the size was decent. The curtains do not shut out as much light as in other hotels I have stayed in so if you want a dark room in the morning you will want to request a room on the pool side of the building.

Maintenance - There was an issue with the electrical outlets in the room not working but they provided us with an extension cord and a power strip within ten minutes of learning there was an issue. They also gave us a very nice discount on our room as a thank you for being understanding. As another reviewer stated - "it's a new hotel and they are still working out the kinks." The entire staff was friendly and very helpful.

Noise - Other reviewers have mentioned noise as an issue - we were on the third floor and never heard another person the whole time.

Pool - The pool area is not huge but it is nicely kept. Yes, there were lots of children and families at the pool area so if you are not ok with that don't plan on spending a lot of time there.

Parking fee - yep it's $14 but the room prices were less than other hotels in the area so it evened out. I do agree that the parking spots in the back area of the lot are very small.

Breakfast - very nice full breakfast, (waffles, eggs, cereal, pasteries, yogurt, fruit, etc.) plenty of seating, gets a bit crowded but not until a little later in the morning

Music - They play nice upbeat music in the lobby which was enjoyable except in the morning. The speakers near the elevators are much louder than in other areas. When you come down for breakfast and are still needing your daily allotment of coffee getting off of the elevator and being hit with the music was pretty jarring.

Overall - very nice - I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: rooms on the poolside would be darker in the morning
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel had a recycle bin in each room but I did not notice them anywhere else. energy efficient ligthbulbs
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley

Address: 2151 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the San Diego/Mission Valley, CA area along the famed Hotel Circle, Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley hotel is the ideal place to stay when in search of easy access to all the top San Diego attractions. Our hotel is only 5 miles from San Diego International Airport, San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld and the popular Gaslamp Quarter in San Diego, CA. Enjoy plush, modern hotel room amenities as well as free WiFi access, complimentary breakfast buffet and luxurious outdoor pool with patio and a relaxing firepit for socializing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.