We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No guidance about different expensive tequila selection” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Agave

El Agave
2304 San Diego Ave. Second Floor Ste B, San Diego, CA 92110 (Old Town)
(619) 220-0692
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
El Agave is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #413 of 3,690 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Old Town
Cross street: Old Town Ave
Leanordtown, MD
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“No guidance about different expensive tequila selection”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Had dinner hear with about 20 others on a business trip. Might have had a better experience with smaller group or a couple. I did not see any signs. Ended up parking in a parking garage that seemed to be open to the public right behind it. However, when we arrived to get car after dinner, they had locked it, with our car in it. Fortunately, security guard let us in. Still not sure if parking is permitted there. It needs signs.
Decor is cool. It looked like hundreds and hundreds of Tequila bottles lining the walls and on racks on the ceiling. I was looking forward to sampling some. When I asked the waiter, he handed me a menu the size of a telephone book with very expensive prices and no information about the various tequilas. Waiter was no help. Settled on getting their “perfecto” margarita. It was quite good, but expensive ($12) and much smaller than I expected. I got the Negro Mole. It was good, not great; especially considering the price ($22) It was somewhat cold (maybe because of the large group). Service was OK.
Might be a good place to come with a date, but if they are a Tequila themed restaurant, you think that they would provide all kinds of info about the choices and have the waiters also understood it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    47
    13
    15
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Mas Tequila!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

If you love tequila, you must visit this place! Unlike other reviewers who didn't see prices before ordering, I asked specifically for a tequila menu - it listed all available tequilas and their prices. I had a shot of the house Anejo, which was quite nice and very smooth, then ordered one of their "special margaritas" which involved hibiscus syrup and pineapple juice w/ a sugared basil rim. YUMMMY!!! I also ordered the cilantro soup - it's worth going JUST for that item. The other foods were less impressive, and yes, it is quite expensive for the entrees. My husband said "that's the MOST I've EVER spent on Mexican food!" Still, I would return....!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
red deer
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best sea bass ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

What a great surprise. This is unlike any Mexican restaurant I have ever eaten at. The restaurant was quaint and all of the tequila bottles were very interesting but the food was over the top. The lamb and the sea bass were outstanding! All of our meals were very good and the service was really good. It was a lucky find as we were just staying across the street at the Fairfield inn

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

now i use to lave this place but this time it was just not as good the sea bass was ok at best, and the chalupa langosta were ok but when you factor in the cost of this place 33.00 for an ok entree is a rip off

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jericho, New York
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Chase's dad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Had wonderful business dinner here. Food was great as were drinks. Excellent wait staff and nice environment. Good value for your money .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Agave also viewed

 

Been to El Agave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Agave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.