We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mas Tequila!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Agave

El Agave
2304 San Diego Ave. Second Floor Ste B, San Diego, CA 92110 (Old Town)
(619) 220-0692
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
El Agave is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #304 of 4,053 restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Old Town
Cross street: Old Town Ave
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Mas Tequila!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

If you love tequila, you must visit this place! Unlike other reviewers who didn't see prices before ordering, I asked specifically for a tequila menu - it listed all available tequilas and their prices. I had a shot of the house Anejo, which was quite nice and very smooth, then ordered one of their "special margaritas" which involved hibiscus syrup and pineapple juice w/ a sugared basil rim. YUMMMY!!! I also ordered the cilantro soup - it's worth going JUST for that item. The other foods were less impressive, and yes, it is quite expensive for the entrees. My husband said "that's the MOST I've EVER spent on Mexican food!" Still, I would return....!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    63
    37
    8
    11
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
red deer
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best sea bass ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

What a great surprise. This is unlike any Mexican restaurant I have ever eaten at. The restaurant was quaint and all of the tequila bottles were very interesting but the food was over the top. The lamb and the sea bass were outstanding! All of our meals were very good and the service was really good. It was a lucky find as we were just staying across the street at the Fairfield inn

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

now i use to lave this place but this time it was just not as good the sea bass was ok at best, and the chalupa langosta were ok but when you factor in the cost of this place 33.00 for an ok entree is a rip off

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jericho, New York
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Chase's dad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Had wonderful business dinner here. Food was great as were drinks. Excellent wait staff and nice environment. Good value for your money .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Beach, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good classic food but expensive.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Lots of classic dishes with classic flavor but you will pay about $25 a plate for a classic dish with rice and beans (chicken mole is my favorite). You can find this cheaper in San Diego but the ambiance is great and the tequila is unmatched. Just be sure it's pay-day to avoid getting caught short. Tourists will enjoy the one stop shop for all foods Mexican. Don't avoid eating here if you are short of time in San Diego.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Agave also viewed

 

Been to El Agave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Agave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.