We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chase's dad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Agave

El Agave
2304 San Diego Ave. Second Floor Ste B, San Diego, CA 92110 (Old Town)
(619) 220-0692
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
El Agave is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #307 of 4,044 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Old Town
Cross street: Old Town Ave
Jericho, New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Chase's dad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Had wonderful business dinner here. Food was great as were drinks. Excellent wait staff and nice environment. Good value for your money .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    39
    9
    12
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Beach, California, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good classic food but expensive.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Lots of classic dishes with classic flavor but you will pay about $25 a plate for a classic dish with rice and beans (chicken mole is my favorite). You can find this cheaper in San Diego but the ambiance is great and the tequila is unmatched. Just be sure it's pay-day to avoid getting caught short. Tourists will enjoy the one stop shop for all foods Mexican. Don't avoid eating here if you are short of time in San Diego.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyne City, Michigan
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Simply Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Located in Old Town, this tequileria has it all: warm attentive service, outstanding upscale Mexican food, warm and comfortable atmosphere at a price that may be considered high, but is outstanding value for the overall dining experience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Exceptional and Worth Seeking Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was one of our vacation highlights. We feel fortunate as we happened upon it quite by chance.

As others noted, the location is a little tricky - Up the stairway to the second floor. Once you're there, you'll know: YOU HAVE FOUND IT!

From the friendly welcome greeting, to the jewel-box boutique style bar, to the exceptionally fresh tequila-based cocktails, and an outstanding eclectic menu of true high end, traditional Mexican cuisine - Know you're going to have a memorable experience.

We were completely awed by the Tequila Museum surrounding us on every possible surface - Beyond impressive.

Our favorite items were the Cilantro Soup and Sea Bass VeraCruzano.

Oh Yes...and the Tequila!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, IL
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican-Cozy Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were in town from Chicago and wanted to find authentic Mexican food-we did. The 2nd floor location just outside of town up a hill threw us initially, but after walking up the stairs into the cozy space lined with endless tequila bottles we were thrilled. We were seated in a porch like area with open windows that allowed us to see the fireworks from Sea World. So fun! The endless assortment of tequilas were a great start to the evening and our waiter was so great at guiding us through the selections. I had the house special mole over pork which was outstanding. The portion was large and delicious. My partner had a steak in a smoky chipotle sauce that was so tender and flavorful. This is not cheap tacos and over sized margaritas. This is the real deal. This was the start to a week long trip up the coast and this was our favorite evening. Great choice!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Agave also viewed

 

Been to El Agave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Agave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.