We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Agave

El Agave
2304 San Diego Ave. Second Floor Ste B, San Diego, CA 92110 (Old Town)
(619) 220-0692
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
El Agave is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #415 of 3,682 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Old Town
Cross street: Old Town Ave
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

we ate here and i absolutely loved there sea bass it was so tasty, they have so many selections of tequils and we tryed quite a few, actually had to take a taxi home, it is a really nice place to go for upscale mexican food

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    46
    12
    15
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Not your standard Mexican.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We had just travelled from the east coast of the USA, so our body clocks were 3 hours ahead. As a result, we were ready for dinner at 5.30pm! We had read about this restaurant in a guide book and happened to be in the area, so we thought we would see if they were open early. They were and to our amazement there were 2 other tables being used. We were shown to a window table on the enclosed balcony which afforded a nice view down towards old town and the sunset. We don't have alot of experience with Mexican fare and the waiter was very generous with his explanations and recommendations for both food and drinks. We shared some appetisers and then both had moles for main course. The food was excellent. By the time we left, the restaurant was busy and we could understand why.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
692 helpful votes 692 helpful votes
“Yummy quality Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We went to El Agave with an OpenTable reservation. (Caveat: be sure they mark you as showing up...although we checked in and I saw my name on the computer list, they reported us as a no-show which was insulting and required communication with OpenTable. It was fixed but still, sloppy service on the part of the restaurant and cost them a notch in that category.)

This restaurant is on the edge of Old Town farthest from Bazaar El Mundo, an easy drive from the Convention Center area but too far for us to walk over the the Bazaar before dinner....and it was raining anyway.

It is lavishly and colorfully decorated with tequila bottles...very charming. Service at the table was good, maitre d' service a notch of per the above.

The food was delicious, somewhat salty but not excessively so. We started with the appetizer assortment, all of which was delicious; shared a very good seafood soup. I had the chicken with pumpkinseed sauce and it was absolutely wonderful and a very large portion...too much for us to finish given all the other food we ordered. My husband had the beef with red mole sauce...he did not think it was anywhere so good as the chicken and found the beef rather flavorless. We did not have dessert; had splits of California sparking wine to start.

This is a very good place with excellent atmosphere and we'd come back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaJolla
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“No tacos here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Did you know Mexican restaurants can serve creative sophisticated continental food. Go here for a non-taco treat and sample some the their hundreds of bottles of Tequila.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, ca
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Mole sauce - Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Sometimes inconsistent but when the mole sauce is on - it is on! great margaritas. the soups and fish dishes are wonderful. intimate restaurant - watch the sun set on the patio.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Agave also viewed

 

Been to El Agave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Agave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.