We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kevin was a true professional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Asti Ristorante

Asti Ristorante
728 5th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6918
619-232-8844
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Asti Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #396 of 3,682 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, European, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 5th Avenue Between F and G Street
Description: Asti, located in the heart of San Diego's Historic Gaslamp Quarter, hasbeen providing guests with an exquisite fine-dining experience since 1994.Watch the passersby as you dine out on the patio for a pleasant shadedlunch or while indulging in a candlelight dinner. Come on inside toexperience the warm, elegant ambiance of the dining room. For the convenience of our guests, Asti can also arrange transportation to and from the restaurant.
California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Kevin was a true professional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

If you go, try to sit in Kevin's section. He was kind, courteous and had a great sense of humor. The Lamb was as good as it gets!! A top choice for Italian downtown San Diego, with an authentic feel.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    81
    30
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“You can find better...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

The food was disappointed. The place looks like italien but the foods are not. I am sure the chef never been in italy, the pizza is not home made it was a frozen crap. Don't go there find an other option!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent place to eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

This was my first night in the US and in San Diego! And I landed at Asti! The food was scrumptious the service great. The blue berry cheese cake was to due for! I will be back Asti!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Love their mixed grilled seafood linguine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Were recommended this place by Enzo from the Sofia Hotel and it didn't disappoint. Right on 5th avenue, heart of gaslamp.
I had the mixed grilled seafood linguine which wasn't just a plate but a huge PLATTER. I got half of it to go and had it for lunch the next day (shared with the husband). Total price $49 but worth the splurge every now and then.

Husband had the New Zealand lamb and it was succulent and moist, didn't smell and had really good flavour to it. $40 for his dish but also worth it as he wolfed it pretty quickly.

We got free dessert courtesy of the card Enzo gave us when we checked into our hotel. Tiramisu wasn't bad, I only had one bite to taste as I was already so full.

Service is amazing. Hostesses are friendly, waiter (Marco?) was great and detailed and attentive. He's not Hispanic but spoke fluent Spanish and I was rather impressed.

Yes, it's pricey but if you're looking for a hearty splurge then this is the place!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Nice Italian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

A good Italian restaurant with a large menu selection. You can order many things that are not typically Italian. The Italian wines were also good.Service was very good and the food was also good. Prices were reasonable for a downtown restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asti Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Asti Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asti Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.