We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gaslamp restaurant distrct” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Asti Ristorante

Asti Ristorante
728 5th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6918
619-232-8844
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Asti Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #395 of 3,683 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, European, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 5th Avenue Between F and G Street
Description: Asti, located in the heart of San Diego's Historic Gaslamp Quarter, hasbeen providing guests with an exquisite fine-dining experience since 1994.Watch the passersby as you dine out on the patio for a pleasant shadedlunch or while indulging in a candlelight dinner. Come on inside toexperience the warm, elegant ambiance of the dining room. For the convenience of our guests, Asti can also arrange transportation to and from the restaurant.
Collingswood, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Gaslamp restaurant distrct”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

On a recent business visit to San Diego we ate at several spots. This place had a reasonably priced wine list with standard Italian fare. Nicely prepared, attentive servers in somewhat cramped quarters...An enjoyable evening

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    81
    30
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westbury, New York
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A wonderful meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Our reservation was honored immediately, and we were seated at a cozy table right in the window, looking out at the Gaslamp District's busy nighttime scene. Our server was experienced and attentive. The food was superb--fresh salads, hot, savory soup, perfectly cooked pasta and fish. The lobster and seafood options were particularly good, and the veal got a rave review. Portions were generous, prices reasonable. Would definitely recommend!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Hotel Recommendation for Dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The staff was extremely friendly. I thought the food was good, but it did not match the price paid. We requested a casual dinning spot at the hotel. The atmosphere was a little better than other Italian restaurants.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Not your mother's lasagna!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Based upon the previous reviews and a look at their menu, we decided to try their Italian fare. The waiter was very professional and provided good service, but the meal was less than memorable.

The Bufalo mozzarella salad with prosciutto and fresh tomatoes was good, but the balsamic vinegar used for the dressing was not a quality grade. I've had similar salads in the US and in Italy, so I know a good balsamic (e.g., they are more akin to a fine syrup and this was just not in the same league). Why serve good quality meat and cheese and then skimp on the dressing???

Then, the beef lasagna arrived in a metal frying pan floating in a greasy sauce with noodles that were so thick and undercooked that they required a knife to cut. My mom only made homemade lasagna noodles, but I never needed a knife to cut them....this was definitely not a meal like mom's. These folks need to find another purveyor for their pasta. If they are making the pasta, then they need to roll the dough thinner and should know better. A disappointment and we really were looking forward to a nice Italian meal...we should have gone next door to Panevino's!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Consistently good food & drink with great service over the years.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Have been here for dinner with colleagues every couple of years for the past seven years while in SD for a bi-annual conference. We always look forward to Asti's as our last dinner of the conference - predictably good food and drink with great service; it really has stood the test of time. We have probably had every appetizer on the menu at one time or another - always good. This last time (2/5/13) one of their specials was a nice veal chop (which many of us ordered) which paired very well with an Amarone the waiter recommended (forgot which one, but it was very smooth and worth the price). Others in our party had various meat or fish dishes and everyone was pleased. I look forward to returning here in 2015.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asti Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Asti Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asti Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.