We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and Tasty!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saffron

Saffron
3731 India St Ste B, San Diego, CA 92103
(619) 574-0177
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #884 of 4,370 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Indian, International
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Unique and Tasty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I have been eating at Saffron for more than ten years. It is an odd restaurant in that it is actually two restaurants: a sit down restaurant and a take out restaurant next door. The cooks are always shuttling between the two places with food. Su Mei, a native I believe of Thailand or China, made this restaurant her pride. She still shows up here from time to time. I wish the carry out containers were not Styrofoam..more environment friendly. Overall, this restaurant is a legacy in the san Diego area. The pad thai is tasty and unique. This place just falls short of five stars because of the difficult parking and the lack of atmosphere in the restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Russell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“picnic basket!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I actually have only ever gotten picnic baskets here. Most recently we did the Valentine's special (given that before baby we used to love doing picnics...so we had a little indoor picnic in Feb). The dipping sauces are awesome - I especially like the sweet n sour and chutney which are both pretty unique tasting.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank lilhigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Non-greasy, consistent enough foods. Fast service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is more of a 3.5 star establishment. The taste is a bit Westernized for Thai foods, but the service is reasonably efficient. There aren't many great Thai restaurants in the city, so ...

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank GlobalCitizen0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Love this restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

I've been to Saffron several times and just had to write a review. Their chicken is to die for and the dipping sauces are amazing. My last visit I started with the vegetarian spring rolls and they may well become an obsession! The dining room can be noisy and it's definitely a no frills, no table service experience, but for the price it is hands down one of the best casual dining restaurants in San Diego! It's close to the airport so I plan on doing take-out next time I am staying over at a hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Nilene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Casual Eats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Good food for the price. Nice location. I love their Spring rolls and soups! Not fancy, at all. and located in a favorite gem of San Diego, India Street.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron also viewed

 

Been to Saffron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing