We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and Tasty!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saffron

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Saffron
3731 India St Ste B, San Diego, CA 92103
(619) 574-0177
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,048 of 4,044 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Thai, Eclectic
Restaurant details
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Unique and Tasty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I have been eating at Saffron for more than ten years. It is an odd restaurant in that it is actually two restaurants: a sit down restaurant and a take out restaurant next door. The cooks are always shuttling between the two places with food. Su Mei, a native I believe of Thailand or China, made this restaurant her pride. She still shows up here from time to time. I wish the carry out containers were not Styrofoam..more environment friendly. Overall, this restaurant is a legacy in the san Diego area. The pad thai is tasty and unique. This place just falls short of five stars because of the difficult parking and the lack of atmosphere in the restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    23
    9
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“picnic basket!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I actually have only ever gotten picnic baskets here. Most recently we did the Valentine's special (given that before baby we used to love doing picnics...so we had a little indoor picnic in Feb). The dipping sauces are awesome - I especially like the sweet n sour and chutney which are both pretty unique tasting.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Non-greasy, consistent enough foods. Fast service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is more of a 3.5 star establishment. The taste is a bit Westernized for Thai foods, but the service is reasonably efficient. There aren't many great Thai restaurants in the city, so ...

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Love this restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

I've been to Saffron several times and just had to write a review. Their chicken is to die for and the dipping sauces are amazing. My last visit I started with the vegetarian spring rolls and they may well become an obsession! The dining room can be noisy and it's definitely a no frills, no table service experience, but for the price it is hands down one of the best casual dining restaurants in San Diego! It's close to the airport so I plan on doing take-out next time I am staying over at a hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Casual Eats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Good food for the price. Nice location. I love their Spring rolls and soups! Not fancy, at all. and located in a favorite gem of San Diego, India Street.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Saffron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saffron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.