We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Visit To San Diego Is Complete Without Saffron Chicken” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saffron

Saffron
3731 India St Ste B, San Diego, CA 92103
(619) 574-0177
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #961 of 3,683 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Thai, Eclectic
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“No Visit To San Diego Is Complete Without Saffron Chicken”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Saffron is conveniently located near the airport. So, whenever we arrive in San Diego to visit family, our first stop is at Saffron for chicken to take home. The ride home is tough because we all drool over the incredible smell. I recommend the peanut sauce which is delicious on their fabulous rice and also on the chicken. The salads are good as well.

My family drives from all over town just to get this chicken. Everything is always hot and fresh. My only gripe about Saffron is when they run out of chicken before I turn up!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    25
    9
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“As good as the real thing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

People that have gone to Thailand have told me that this was as good as the meal they had when they visited that lovely country and man they weren't kidding!
The food is awesome so good that you should not go there when your literally going to pass out of hunger, there could be a line and although they serve you very fast it seems like hours when you're famished, having a late lunch is best to beat the dinner rush.

Try the chicken egg rolls while you wait you will not regret it a very comforting thing is also the constant cleaning that goes on I mean you could literally eat of of the table which is why you often see a good dose of families having dinners there.
*EXCELLENT FOR VEGETARIANS AND GLUTEN FREE EATING.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princetown, NJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The peanut sauce is to die for. Look on the walls to see all the celebs that love the food too.

My friend loved his meal so much he ordered a double serving to take home.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Eat in or take out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The good is consistently good and created with a focus on healthful eating. Try the chicken roles with peanut dipping sauce for a refreshing treat.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great lunch or dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Coconut soup only on Sundays, It's like soul food - Chicken broth base with ginger lemon grass and spices, with extra rice

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron also viewed

 

Been to Saffron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saffron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.