We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Thai! A must try!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saffron

Saffron
3731 India St Ste B, San Diego, CA 92103
(619) 574-0177
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #799 of 4,100 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Thai, Eclectic
Restaurant details
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Thai! A must try!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

As someone who has been to Thailand and lived in Southeast Asia, I am very picky about my Thai food and loved it! Its no frills food hits the spot! You order and pay at the counter and they bring it to you! I ended up eating all of my Pad Thai and then eating most of my wife's Pad See Ew, much to her dismay. It was all so tasty I just couldnt help myself. I also ordered the mango sticky rice. Now it wasnt the best sticky rice ever but pretty good- and large thankfully I had 2 willing friends helping me finish it. The owner is friendly and has been featured on TV and in Magazines many times. So good Im going back!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    23
    9
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new haven, ct
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“For the birds!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Any trip to San Diego includes a stop at the Taste of Thai. A little take-out or eat in restaurant that emits the most wonderful smells of chickens roasting -- add a little sauce and you are good to go! Picked up my meal and went down to Balboa Park to enjoy the meal and much to my dismay it went to the birds. The chicken was overcooked and difficult to eat. I will stop in again and hope it was just an off day!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
International Falls, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Highly recommended to us, not sure why”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We were told this place was fabulous. Guess we had too high of expectations. We had a family of six try it out. For starters, tough seating. Meant more for singles or couples, or take out. Had both indoor and outdoor seating on old metal chairs that must have a million miles on them. Not really sure anything was clean. Overall felt like diner dive, especially bathrooms. Very busy place but waitstaff quick to clear tables. The food....everyone had fun sampling the others plates but no one was coming back for more. The soups were huge bowls. Plates were full. lots of food served and not generic by any means, full of flavors, just not my style.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Salad rolls and ginger tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I'd still go a long way for Saffron's salad rolls, three to a box, siracha and peanut sauces, and hot pungent ginger tea.

The picnic hampers with broiled chicken, rice (substitute the white rice for the heartier, healthier red rice), salad rolls and cambodian slaw (delicious) are expensive but fun for a trip to Balboa park or the beach
.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

generic thai take out. very hyped by the owner who moves with the upper class circles. good location, but if you want more authentic fare drive up to sabi lee in linda vista on ulric.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron also viewed

 

Been to Saffron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saffron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.