We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and decent atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pegasus Cafe

Pegasus Cafe
16719 Bernardo Center Dr, San Diego, CA 92128-2509
858-487-2188
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #423 of 4,044 restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Greek, Lebanese, Vegetarian
Restaurant details
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good food and decent atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a family-style restaurant in San Diego County, just thirty minutes north of I-8 off the 15. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the food is quite good. They did us a favor when we had a table of 5, because when they served the appetizer, they served five instead of the typical four dolma.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    9
    7
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olathe, Kansas
Top Contributor
411 reviews 411 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“outstanding quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is just a fun place to eat. Really dirt cheap prices, first class food freshly prepared and super convienient.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I was staying in a hotel nearby and found this place quite by accident. It seems to be a family run place. I ordered a "manager's special" and had a taste of several different items. The tiropita was freshly baked and delicious! The gyro was excellent, the bread fresh and delicious. And the salad fresh and crispy with a generous amount of feta.

The hummous not to my liking - not enough garlic and lemon for me. It had a great consistency though.

I took home an order of the galakto boureko which was almost as good as my home-made.

The place seems to do a lot of take out service, though the dining room is comfortable and the service is pleasant although not fast. The hot food was fresh and hot and the cold food cold though. I would definitely come here again if in the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great value for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Had a gyro plate with couscous. Very flavorful, inexpensive, served with speed & a smile. Great find!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London/ Dublin
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great quality food from a family restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

I'll start by saying, you wouldn't want to be in a rush here. The waiter is an old man and everything seems to take a bit longer but that aside this place is great. Surrounded by fast food joints selling processed junk, this place offers really good quality home cooked food. I had the mahi mahi wrap and it was delicious. We all enjoyed the fayre.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pegasus Cafe also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Pegasus Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pegasus Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.