We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pancakes or ambiance? PANCAKES!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Original Pancake House

Original Pancake House
3906 Convoy St, San Diego, CA 92111-3724
858-565-1740
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #820 of 3,683 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: If you've never tried The Original Pancake House®, you're long over-due. And if you're already a regular, then you know what we're talking about. Come by and experience the flavor, the atmosphere, the attention to quality and service, and the ultimate breakfast favorite for San Diegans for nearly 30 years!
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pancakes or ambiance? PANCAKES!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I've been a loyal OPH customer since the early 90s This place is a treat each and every time I visit. It's expensive, it's vanilla wrapper and it's a wait at the door, BUT the food and coffee make all that inconsequential!
Menu items that I'm drooling over as I type this: 1. Full size German Pancake (There is a Dutch baby but that's for I'll girls). 2. Apple Pancake. 3. Bacon (You heard me right). 4. 49er Flapjacks 5. Any omelette (fluffy goodness).
So, in closing, break out the wallet, learn to enjoy the company of strangers and prepare for a truly scrumptious meal!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    28
    12
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“German Pancake, hard to find but they have it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The wait for seating moved fairly quickly on a weekend morning. The German Pancake was excellent! The menu a little overpriced for breakfast, but you can't find German Pancakes everywhere. The service was a bit slow and lacking on the drink refills, but understandable since they were very busy.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Go for the Pancakes, Stay for the Coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Husband and I hit San Diego on July 3rd for the holiday. After grabning our rental car at the airport, we searched for a nearby breakfast place that had good pancakes. Not far off was the Original Pancake House, so we decided to go for it. The parking lot was crowded at 11AM as expected. We waited about 5 minutes before getting a tiny table in the packed dining room. We expected the service to be slow due to the crowd, but the efficient staff more than handled it.

Our server, Dalia, immediately brought coffee, and wow, was it good! We don't have Boyd's coffee back in AZ, unfortunately. We never saw the bottom of our cups that day as it seemed the entire staff kept regfilling our cups.

Husband ordered the pineapple pancakes with scrambled eggs and bacon. It was wonderful. The bacon was AMAZING! Smokey, thick cut---a meal in itself.

I had the apple waffle with cinnamon syrup and it was served fresh off the griddle with whipped butter. This is the way a waffle should be--crispy on the outside, tender on the inside. I didn't care for the syrup, however. Not much flavor. The syrup served with the pineapple pancakes was delicious but not a pineapple syrup. It tasted like marmalade and had orange rind in it.

Our entire meal came to $31.41 with tax, no tip. We feel it was well worth it for such quality food.

Go to the Original Pancake House when you visit San Diego. You won't leave sorry or hungry.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Live around the corner, eat here all the time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

There is almost ALWAYS a wait - even on weekdays - and it's more expensive than it should be, but the coffee is ADDICTIVE and the food is very, very good. They don't offer "fake" eggs, which is really unfortunate, but it is definitely the best breakfast in San Diego... (In the Clairemont area, though, not near downtown - or near anything else for that matter!)

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best Pancakes ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

FanTastic! Customer service great, all food fresh, a little pricy but it is worth the treat.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Original Pancake House also viewed

 

Been to Original Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Original Pancake House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.