We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Vegetarian Food; Delighful Flavors Abound” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jyoti Bihanga

Jyoti Bihanga
3351 Adams Ave, San Diego, CA 92116-1823
619-282-4116
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #403 of 4,054 restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: American, Vegan, Vegetarian
Restaurant details
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding Vegetarian Food; Delighful Flavors Abound”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is a very special, serene and delicious place to dine. The service is warm and efficient. The food is fresh, divine and healthy. Truly gourmet vegetarian dining. There a variety of excellent salad choices and the soup of the day was full of flavor. They prepare great baked potato toppings and offer a range of curry dishes. We will definitley go back when we are in San Diego.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    13
    7
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SM
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Randomly bad...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

It's not even hit and miss. I could have done better in my own kitchen. I had to sit and wait in an uncomfortable chair waiting for the vegan meatloaf. The neat loaf was grainy. It came with a salad to replace any real green vegetables which were not offered. The waiter was extremely slow and annoying since his english was bad. The establishment looked like it might have been modern 20 years ago with a new age twist. Service was slow and waitress appeared disdainful, wearing bad smelling perfume. 20 years ago they had a chef named victory who stole recipes from cookbooks and putting it into his own cookbook. Well I guess it continues to attract demonic individuals. It was also pricey. No Go!!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Really good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

The portions were really good. Not overdone. Tasty, maybe a little high priced but still worth going. We both liked our lunch.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Vegetarian's Delight in very serene surroundings!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Try the Neatloaf or Infinite Blue. You will be very happy and when you leave there you sort of feel like you want to be nice to someone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fla
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

I had the neatloaf. My wife had the special which was fish stew. Both were very tasty.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jyoti Bihanga also viewed

 

Been to Jyoti Bihanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jyoti Bihanga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.