We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mexican food fast and furious!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Indio Mexican Restaurant

El Indio Mexican Restaurant
3695 India St, San Diego, CA 92103-4749
619-299-0333
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #285 of 4,168 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Takeout
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food fast and furious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I visited El Indio on a recent trip to San Diego, it is a Diners, Drive-ins and Dives Joint! It is also right next door to Blue Water Seafood (another Triple D spot). The food is great served up fast and furious, if you like Mexican food this is definitely one of the best places in San Diego for it.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    89
    37
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cameron Park, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“How can you make bad refried beans?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This place may be famous but they forgot why. The beans and rice were way too salty. None of us took a second bite. My burrito was supposed to have chicken in it. If it did, it would take a forensic scientist to prove it. Maybe they get a kick out of giving a gringo the hottest hot sauce. I was not amused. I couldn't eat it. I did come to appreciate the soda fountain since I spent quite a lot of time getting refills to cool my throat.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Hill, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I've wanted to go here since my last trip to San Diego when I saw a line out the door. So delicious! I got the carnitas taco and carna asada taco, wow so much meat, one was plenty. It came with beans and rice. The meat was moist and super flavorful. Not a little taco. They have a salsa bar and we got guacamole. One of the best Mexican restaurants I've tried. Make a trip, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Casual, Fresh Chips, Classic SD!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Classic. I will freely admit that there are menu items that are "Meh." But then there's fresh chips, enchiladas, and great customer service. It can get crowded, not the most charming interior but I come here often and fondly! They've been in existence for many years, 60, 70 years so I might be biased as a native girl but I do enjoy my visits every time! Make use of the salsa bar =)

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a by far one of the best mexican food restaurants that we have had in San Diego....The carne asada burrito is so good and has probably the best flavor I have ever had in a burrito. The tamales are so wonderful that we placed an order during Christmas of a few dozen of the beef and chicken tamales. We really liked the beef a lot better that the chicken and we love to dip them in the enchilada sauce. The chips and guacamole are ok. They have a dish that has little taquito bites with nacho cheese and salsa and jalapenos on them and those are soooo yummy too. We live about 20 to 30 minutes from here but we make the trip often. If you are in the mood for some awesome authentic mexican food this is the place to go.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Indio Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Indio Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Indio Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.