We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm Thai and I give this place a thumbs up” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Celadon Restaurant

Celadon Restaurant
3671 5th Ave., San Diego, CA 92101
619-297-8424
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,579 of 3,725 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“I'm Thai and I give this place a thumbs up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Their flavors are on par with what Thai food should taste like especially with the Northeastern region plates.

Decor - downstairs bar area OK, upstairs is very nice, immaculate, and WHITE everywhere. Looks very nice and elegant.

Service - very good! very attentive!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    10
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Exquiste Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I was very impress with this restaurant. The intimacy of this restaurant is excellent. There is a piano and a sofa giving the feeling like you were at your home. I had the roti as an appetizer and the sauce is superb. For the main course I had the Grilled Garlic Pepper Fish, that was also superb. The wait staff was excellent. You must try this Thai restaurant. Bon Apetit.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Middling food, polite service, watch the service charge!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I've been going to Celadon since the early 1980s; this is not their best iteration. The location is cool -- park down Fifth -- and they have some old favorites (recommend the Celadon squares and pad thai), but most of what we had was mediocre. The spring rolls are uninspired, the calamari actually pretty good (a nice crispy tempura-style batter is just right). Our friends liked the fish dishes; the BBQ chicken wasn't. BBQ'd, that is, more like baked with a semi-sweet sauce nearly indistinguishable from the sauce we were supposed to use for the spring rolls and calamari. Only two desserts; fried bananas, or mango slices with sticky rice. On balance, I remember a lively menu with interesting tastes. This, not so much.

But then, for a party of six, we were charged a 20% service charge on top of the bill and tax -- not sure if this is even right, but we felt ripped off. Service was OK and friendly (chicken was late) but the service charge totally out of line. If we return I won't go unless we negotiate that charge out. It wasn't otherwise worth it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you love Thai you'll love Celadon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

This is the most fabulious Thai Resturant in San Diego,Ca.located in the Hillcrest area.,a must stop.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Upscale Thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Celadon has excellent food. Parking is tricky (street only). Their prices are higher, but they have white tablecloths and finer accoutrements, not to mention a high-quality shredded papaya salad. I've only been here once, but it was really good. I'd go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Celadon Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Celadon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Celadon Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.