We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local venue!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adams Avenue Grill

Adams Avenue Grill
2201 Adams Ave, San Diego, CA 92104
619-298-8440
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Adams Avenue Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #445 of 4,044 restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Los Angeles CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great local venue!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Walking in to AAG feels so familiar. The place is comfortably decorated and furnished, feeling like your own dining room. And the residential location only enhances that homey feeling.

The food is great! Had the veggie special of stuffed roasted poblanos, very tasty, size able and filling. And at a reasonable price.

Fair wine and beer selection to choose from.

Too full for dessert, but they looked delicious.

Service was good, friendly and efficient.

Definitely recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    14
    10
    2
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Lovely Local Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This small hideaway is a favorite of locals for many years. The menu is unusual and food was excellent.....and local artists work is displayed for your enjoyment. It was nice to be able to talk without shouting, and to relax without being rushed out. Unassuming exterior, but don't judge the book by the cover!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent & creative food with friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

I ate at this restaurant for the first time tonight and I will be back! It's in a neighborhood about 5 miles from where I live where there are a nice group of independently owned restaurants. Maureen, our server who has been there for 15 years, made us feel so welcomed as first-timers there.

There was a nice wine selection and our server helped us choose the one for us. The spring rolls with 2 dipping sauces were fresh & healthy, the kale salad was nicely seasoned and very enjoyable and our main course was the wild rice stuffed red bell peppers on top of white beans. So yummy! I had my eye on the peanut butter and chocolate dessert the moment we walked in as we had to pass by the desserts, so had to take one to go as I had already eaten too much. Now I am eating the dessert and must say it is decadent. Try it if you like peanut butter!!!

Nice local feel. Again.... will be back!!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food at a fair price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

A great staff, ask for Tiffany as your server. Great food, the fire oven pizza is excellent. The desserts are absolutely killer. What makes the meal is Tiffany's service. She is friendly knowledgeable and half the fun of this grill.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great food and nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We love to eat dinner at this restaurant. It's not very big but it is very cozy and nice and quiet. You can have a good conversation and not have to shout. The service is very great and you are well taken care of by the staff. The food has always been excellent and the specials are full of flavor. The quantity and quality of the food has been more than excellent.

The price of each entrée is mid priced and you get a large portion. We have been going for dinner so can't comment on lunch or breakfast. We will be going back and recommend this to others.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adams Avenue Grill also viewed

 

Been to Adams Avenue Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adams Avenue Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.