We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A upscale steakhouse” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greystone the Steak House

Greystone the Steak House
658 5th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6916 (Downtown)
+1 619-232-0225
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Greystone the Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #103 of 4,366 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: G Street
Description: Greystone, a modern-chic yet sophisticated atmosphere that allows for a classic dining experience. This, along with our wide variety of cuts including Waygu beef and exotic game, a highly-acclaimed wine list, one of a kind craft cocktails and uncompromised service makes your dining experience at Greystone unparalleled. Greystone has become a destination restaurant in San Diego. Featuring three private dining rooms, including our exquisite wine cellar and live entertainment, this is a truly unique San Diego steakhouse.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
222 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“A upscale steakhouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I am very picky when it comes to steakhouses but I will say Greystone did impress me. I had the filet bone in and it was very good. All my friends enjoyed the meal. I thought the roasted asparagus was very good. The Sea Bass I thought was very good as well. Very nice wine list and the service was very good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cmpqse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sawyer Michigan
Level Contributor
232 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Best Steaks and seafood in town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

MMMMMMMM bone in filet, rib eye, strip..... crab, lobster. Wonderful staff classy atmosphere. This is a special place.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great service, but clean the bathrooms!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Recently ate here with a group of customers and had a lovely meal. Was skeptical because restaurant is quite outdated and tired inside. However, food and service exceeded all expectations and was a good value for the money. Be forewarned, the bathrooms are past the (not so nice looking) kitchen and resemble more of a public bathroom than one in a nice restaurant. If you can get beyond that, you'll enjoy this spot.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakley, California, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ignore the barkers in the Gaslamp District!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

...head straight for Greystone and not pass go! Eat at the bar if you feel casual and don't have a reservation on a busy night. Service is fantastic. Lobster bisque and Filet Oscar? ,,,I'd kill for it. Enjoy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
349 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Excellent steak!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

I had a craving for a decent steak on a very recent visit so decided to try Greystone while walking around the Gaslight district. There is so many choices in restaurants there you really are a bit spoilt.

I was hungry so opted for the biggest steak on the menu, a huge rib on the bone. The waiter recommended the beer battered chips and the peppercorn and armagnac sauce.

I was a bit surprised when the steak came out. It was much flatter but it covered the whole plate. No complaints though - absolutely superb piece of steak. The beer battered chips were fantastic too.

Service was great. Overall, definitely deserving of five stars. An exemplary restaurant

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank klkh2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greystone the Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Greystone the Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing