We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A upscale steakhouse” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greystone the Steak House

Greystone the Steak House
658 5th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6916 (Downtown)
+1 619-232-0225
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Greystone the Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #332 of 3,702 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: G Street
Description: Greystone is an independently owned and operated steakhouse located in the heart of downtown San Diego's historic Gaslamp Quarter. We feature aged meat, seafood and pasta with influences form the culinary traditions of Europe, America and the Pacific Rim. To complement our cuisine, Greystone also features an award-winning wine list. Our spacious, multi-level floor plan features a classic yet contemporary decor and a relaxed cosmopolitan ambiance perfect for entertaining.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
206 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“A upscale steakhouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I am very picky when it comes to steakhouses but I will say Greystone did impress me. I had the filet bone in and it was very good. All my friends enjoyed the meal. I thought the roasted asparagus was very good. The Sea Bass I thought was very good as well. Very nice wine list and the service was very good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    74
    40
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sawyer Michigan
Level Contributor
199 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Best Steaks and seafood in town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

MMMMMMMM bone in filet, rib eye, strip..... crab, lobster. Wonderful staff classy atmosphere. This is a special place.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great service, but clean the bathrooms!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Recently ate here with a group of customers and had a lovely meal. Was skeptical because restaurant is quite outdated and tired inside. However, food and service exceeded all expectations and was a good value for the money. Be forewarned, the bathrooms are past the (not so nice looking) kitchen and resemble more of a public bathroom than one in a nice restaurant. If you can get beyond that, you'll enjoy this spot.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakley, California, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ignore the barkers in the Gaslamp District!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

...head straight for Greystone and not pass go! Eat at the bar if you feel casual and don't have a reservation on a busy night. Service is fantastic. Lobster bisque and Filet Oscar? ,,,I'd kill for it. Enjoy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
285 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Excellent steak!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

I had a craving for a decent steak on a very recent visit so decided to try Greystone while walking around the Gaslight district. There is so many choices in restaurants there you really are a bit spoilt.

I was hungry so opted for the biggest steak on the menu, a huge rib on the bone. The waiter recommended the beer battered chips and the peppercorn and armagnac sauce.

I was a bit surprised when the steak came out. It was much flatter but it covered the whole plate. No complaints though - absolutely superb piece of steak. The beer battered chips were fantastic too.

Service was great. Overall, definitely deserving of five stars. An exemplary restaurant

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greystone the Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Greystone the Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greystone the Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.