We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A upscale steakhouse” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greystone the Steak House

Greystone the Steak House
658 5th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6916 (Downtown)
619-232-0225
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Greystone the Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #649 of 4,053 restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Barbecue, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: G Street
Description: Greystone is an independently owned and operated steakhouse located in the heart of downtown San Diego's historic Gaslamp Quarter. We feature aged meat, seafood and pasta with influences form the culinary traditions of Europe, America and the Pacific Rim. To complement our cuisine, Greystone also features an award-winning wine list. Our spacious, multi-level floor plan features a classic yet contemporary decor and a relaxed cosmopolitan ambiance perfect for entertaining.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“A upscale steakhouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I am very picky when it comes to steakhouses but I will say Greystone did impress me. I had the filet bone in and it was very good. All my friends enjoyed the meal. I thought the roasted asparagus was very good. The Sea Bass I thought was very good as well. Very nice wine list and the service was very good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    60
    51
    33
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sawyer Michigan
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Best Steaks and seafood in town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

MMMMMMMM bone in filet, rib eye, strip..... crab, lobster. Wonderful staff classy atmosphere. This is a special place.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great service, but clean the bathrooms!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Recently ate here with a group of customers and had a lovely meal. Was skeptical because restaurant is quite outdated and tired inside. However, food and service exceeded all expectations and was a good value for the money. Be forewarned, the bathrooms are past the (not so nice looking) kitchen and resemble more of a public bathroom than one in a nice restaurant. If you can get beyond that, you'll enjoy this spot.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakley, California, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ignore the barkers in the Gaslamp District!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

...head straight for Greystone and not pass go! Eat at the bar if you feel casual and don't have a reservation on a busy night. Service is fantastic. Lobster bisque and Filet Oscar? ,,,I'd kill for it. Enjoy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Excellent steak!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I had a craving for a decent steak on a very recent visit so decided to try Greystone while walking around the Gaslight district. There is so many choices in restaurants there you really are a bit spoilt.

I was hungry so opted for the biggest steak on the menu, a huge rib on the bone. The waiter recommended the beer battered chips and the peppercorn and armagnac sauce.

I was a bit surprised when the steak came out. It was much flatter but it covered the whole plate. No complaints though - absolutely superb piece of steak. The beer battered chips were fantastic too.

Service was great. Overall, definitely deserving of five stars. An exemplary restaurant

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greystone the Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Greystone the Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greystone the Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.