We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful menu and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AVANT Restaurant

AVANT Restaurant
17550 Bernardo Oaks Drive, San Diego, CA 92128
+(1)858.675.8550
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
AVANT Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #389 of 4,093 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Pomerado Road
Description: Welcome to AVANT, the highly anticipated new restaurant in North County where fresh ingredients take center stage and over-manipulated food is left behind. Conveniently located in the acclaimed luxury resort, Rancho Bernardo Inn, AVANT focuses on unpretentious, approachable cuisine paired with meticulously crafted classic cocktails, one-of-a-kind wines on tap plus local craft beer. At the helm are Executive Chef, Nicolas Bour and Chef de Cuisine James Kozak. Bour inherited a passion for food and fresh ingredients from his parents who raised him on a working organic farm. Bour took over the reins at Rancho Bernardo Inn in 2010 and has been dreaming up yummy goodies for AVANT ever since. Kozak learned to cook at a young age. With experience in restaurants across the country like Charlie Trotter’s in Chicago, James is ambitious and excited to be in San Diego where produce is available year-round. An avid surfer, ask him if he’s found his favorite beach.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful menu and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

A superb menu, described by the waiter who was accurate and served us well. The portions were a good size and for once we actually finished both courses. We recommend the New York strip and the pork loin. The ambience was excellent and we enjoyed the wines from the stem list.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    12
    11
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
laguna hills
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good food, beautiful view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Had fish and chips which were a bit on the greasy side but yummy. Guacamole and chips were great..again chips were a bit oily.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Small servings/big prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Living here, my husband & I actually went on separate occasions with friends. He & his male friends said the food was good, but the serving sizes were extremely small. He ordered a wedge salad which was about 2" in width. They ended up having to order so many dishes, they actually could have gone to a very nice restaurant & had a full meal.
Me & my lady friends found the same problem. The wines, which they have many by the glass, were quite high for this area. I got 2 glasses or Chardonnay. They were $16 ea. add the food to that, & again, could have had a great dinner elsewhere.
It is a lovely setting, but I've heard the same misgivings from my ladies golf group. We are all disappointed & probably will not return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Applebee's”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

While the restaurant was nicely laid out and appointed, the service friendly but really slow. The food was cold and unappealing.
My wife didn't eat the $35 steak. It was overlooked and dry. She didn't feel like complaining any more. We paid and left. The nice waitress comped our dessert.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBINN, General Manager at AVANT Restaurant, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Recent Guest, I apologize for the lack of service and less than desirable cuisine that you experienced. It is certainly not the standard that we strive for and I would like you to know that your comments have been addressed with AVANT's Culinary Team.

Please allow me to make your experience right. Please contact my assistant, Glenna, so that you can make a new memory. Glenna can be reached at glolson@jcresorts.com.

Best Regards,
John Gates
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Avant Reborn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Avant is the newly remodeled and redesigned flagship restaurant at the Rancho Bernardo Inn. The new look including both the decor and the set up is very appealing and attractive. There is both an interior dining area, as well as a porch like room that is partially open.We were fortunate to have had two meals there recently and both were great experiences. The staff is very accommodating and professional. Our first visit was a 91st birthday gathering with a party of seven. Both visits were for brunch. There is a separate brunch menu featuring a number of different eggs benedict dishes and the one with the Parma Ham is excellent. It also has duck confit hash and other dishes, all very tasty.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to AVANT Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AVANT Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.