We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but watch the breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar to your Saves list
Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3525 Valley Centre Drive, San Diego, CA 92130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #7 of 272 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Gainesville
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but watch the breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The rooms are new and well kept. The "slow" internet connection which is provided free is as fast as my fast internet connection at home. The free parking which is in the underground garage is a contrast to the $9 parking fee that the other Marriott hotel charges across the street.

One complaint about the food served for breakfast was that the milk served had gone sour. I actually observed the milk being taken out of the hotel refrigerator. This made me question the freshness of the other food offered for breakfast.

I recommend the hotel but I would be careful about the breakfast food.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan H, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Greetings Fred085,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and I appreciate your feedback about breakfast. Our breakfast staff takes many measures to ensure our breakfast is of great quality and is safe for our guests to eat. I assure you that I will be sharing your feedback with the gatehouse staff to make sure they are taking every procautionary measure to providing a safe and high quality food product to our guests. We look forward to catering to your future stays in the San Diego area.

Sincerely,
Evan Haft
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    21
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
26
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We booked a 1 bedroom king suite and they didnt have any when we checked in. They gave us two adjoining rooms and an awesome rate! Michelle and the rest of the crew were awesome and we are very appreciative!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan H, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Hi Steve R,

Thank you so much for your review. I truly apologize that we did not have your one bedroom suite available. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to accomodate the adjoining suites to make up for it. The associates were excited to hear about your comments at our daily meeting today, especially Michelle. Thank you so much for staying with us. We hope to see you again the next time you visit the San Diego area.

Sincerely,

Evan Haft
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I stayed here for two nights on business. The staff was great and very helpful with questions on restaurants and arranging transportation to the airport for me. My room was very quiet and clean. The breakfast was very good and always well stocked. The workout facilities were clean and the equipment was very nice. I would definitely stay again if I am in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiyomi C, Director of Sales at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Hello JMH2010_10,

Thank you for your review and sharing your experience at the hotel with us! We look forward to seeing you next time you're in San Diego!

Cheers!

Kiyomi C.
Sales Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We are big fans of all marriott properties. We have not been disappointed. This hotel was great ! Awesome customer service, comfortable large rooms. Would stay here again!
This hotel was easy to find and not far from the freeway. Secure parking was a comfort, we traveled with our bikes and didn't have to worry about them on our stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan H, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Hi Denisezhere,

Thank you so much for your review!! We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at the Residence Inn Del Mar as well as your satisfaction with all Marriott properties. The staff at our hotel has a true passion for taking care of our guests and I am glad to hear that your experience was a memorable one. The secured underground parking garage is definitely an added bonus at our property. We look forward to catering to your future stays in the San Diego area and hope you will think of us next time your friends or family are visiting.

Best Regards,
Evan Haft
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I cannot praise enough the wonderful staff at this hotel, all of whom seemed genuinely interested to make our stay here wonderful... Upon check-in a lovely lady named Michelle went to great lengths to find us a room that suited our requirements...She was FANTASTIC! We also loved the in-house dining on some weeknights, made the place feel more homely than a hotel..The ladies in the kitchen worked hard to create something different for breakfast each morning which was terrific when you are travelling as often just get the same/same at hotels. The apartment was just lovely with a terrific kitchennette and having 4 nights here was a great stay rather than just being in a hotel room. Only 1 negative, it is not at all close to the beach which the photos and wording really alluded it was just across from the beach, more like a 30 minute walk to the water unfortunately.

Room Tip: Request a room on the 'quiet side'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan H, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hello anitan555,

I am so happy to hear the praise you had for Michelle and the rest of the staff here at the Residence Inn Del Mar. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. Here at the Residence Inn, it is the goal of our staff to provide the comforts of a modern home with an intuitive human touch. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our complimentary happy hour and breakfast, which has a rotating schedule to ensure you plenty of options. We hope you had a safe trip home and look forward to seeing you during your future travels to the states.

Safe Travels,
Evan Haft
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed at this property a short while back and can not begin to explain how awesome it was. The rooms were well appointed and very clean. There was even a personal note written on one of the notepads from the housekeeping girl to enjoy our stay and to feel free to ask for anything. The 3 most awesome things about this hotel though are, tons of free parking, free wifi, and a free "happy hour" offering complimentary snacks and beer. Matt at the front desk provided excellent service and the general manager Illana was just outstanding. Every Marriott hotel out there should look into hiring a general manager like her!!! This place is a gem!!!! Hope you enjoy your stay there as much as I did!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan H, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Hello CM0rgan,

Thank you for staying with us last month. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at our property! There really is nothing like winding down with a glass of wine or a beer after a long day at our complimentary happy hour. I will be sure to share your feedback with Matt's memorable service. He has a great personality and really goes out of his way to exceed our guests expectations. We look forward to seeing you during your future travels to the San Diego area and hope you will think of us the next time your friends or family are looking for a place to stay.

Best Regards,
Evan Haft
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I enjoy cooking, so the 1 bedroom suite with full kitchen was just what i was looking for. When i didnt have the right tools or supplies on hand the front desk and cooking staff (Elizabeth, Amber, and Cathleen) went out of their way to assist me. Everyone I had contact with was pleasant and truely wished to provide the best stay possible. If possible, I would stay here on my next trip to San Diego.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan H, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Hi GBruce_W,

Thank you so much for your review! On behalf of the entire Residence Inn Del mar team, thank you for staying with us. As a person who truly enjoys to cook as well, having the fully equipped kitchen is definitely an added luxury in all of our suites. I am glad that Amber, Elizabeth and Cathleen were able to assist with your cooking utensil needs. We look forward to seeing you during your future trips to San Diego.

Sincerely,
Evan Haft
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar

Address: 3525 Valley Centre Drive, San Diego, CA 92130
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 272 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New hotel! Opened July 2013. Conveniently located just minutes away from the Del Mar Fairgrounds, Del Mar Race Track, Beaches, Sea World, and the San Diego Zoo. The hotel has 118 suites with full kitchens designed to make your extended trips to San Diego relaxing and enjoyable. When visiting San Diego for leisure or business, the Residence Inn Del Mar is a sure bet! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Marriott and Priceline so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.