We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find: fantastic food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gang Kitchen

Gang Kitchen
345 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA
Website
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #492 of 3,977 restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Asian
Good for: Large groups
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great find: fantastic food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Was in be district for a conference and dined out every day for a week. Came here with a group of 10 and couldn't get our act together so asked our knowledgeable server to pick our menu. Sampled most items on this Asian fusion influenced menu (beef, fish, duck, shrimp) and most dishes were delicious and creative. Some were heavy on the salt, but the roller coaster of tastes was a great experience. Wine selection was good and desserts so so. Came back 3 days later with friends who were equally impressed. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    7
    3
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Louisiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“So Nice, Went Twice.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The restaurant has a sleek, industrial look, but still feels warm, with the oversized art pieces. The wine list has lots of great choices by the glass to compliment the Asian inspired food. Staff was very friendly, professional and obviously well trained.

We could have simply worked our way through the appetizers, they were so appealing. Spicy Tuna with Crispy Rice and Fresh Wasabi was clean, fresh and delicious. Summer Rolls with Shrimp and Peanut Sauce were yummy, as were the Mushroom Potstickers. For entrees we had Five Spice Pork Belly Pad Thai (when you see pork belly, order it!) and the recommended Grilled Shanghai Beef (with Frites), both excellent.

We went back another night with a third person, so that we could sample even more of the menu. Definitely the best place we dined in San Diego over five days.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Went down to the Gaslamp district with my family to have a look around and grab some dinner. As we were walking around looking at different restaurants, menu looked intriguing and prices were not too bad. A lot of good choices, but this was more of what we were looking for. Our waitress was very good at making suggestions for all courses. Many appetizer's to choose from, so multiples are easy to do. We tried the fried edamame wontons and they were very good. We also tried the shanghai beef and the ahi tuna entrees and these were also very good. The desserts were also unique and very good. The chocolate bar and the banana spring rolls were very good. If you're looking for more of an eclectic Asian style of food choices, this is a great place to try. You won't be disappointed.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constant Traveller
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
“A Fabulous Dinner Choice, Maybe the Best in the Gaslight District”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is a brand-new restaurant in the Gaslight District, just across the street from the Marriott Residence Inn on 6th Avenue. I was traveling in a large group, attending a trade show, and we almost didn't go to the Gang because the bartender at that hotel said he had heard it was "uneven." Well, you can put that worry to rest -- this was a delightful location, with a great menu and a superior but affordable wine list. Jump on the trolley and give it a try!

The restaurant is in a loft-style building, and towers three stories above the bar. The bar is minimalist, with an Asian feel and chinese characters on the windows, ceiling and flat-screen tvs. We were seated on the second tier of the restaurant (the third tier is only used for groups and weekends). Our server was a stunningly pretty woman named Farrah who handled our roudy group very graciously. Serice was fast, the choices delicious, and the plates of shared deserts the chef prepared for us delighted our taste buds (see photos).

There was one odd behavior which I find annoying but happening more often at restaurants - the people who bring out the food are not the same people who took your orders, so they have no idea who gets what. This means they come to the table and ask, "Who had the fajitas?" or whatever. It disrupts the conversation and makes an elegant dinner a bit more like dining at the Golden Corral. Personally, I think the Gang could do better.

But other that this one quirk, it was a very special evening and I look forward to returning to Gang Kitchen as soon as my schedule permits.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gang Kitchen also viewed

 
San Diego, CA
 

Been to Gang Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gang Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.