We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grandiose interior” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Diego Central Library

San Diego Central Library
820 E St,, San Diego, CA 92101
(619) 236-5800
Improve this listing
Ranked #91 of 220 attractions in San Diego
Type: Libraries
Attraction Details
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Grandiose interior”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The San Diego Central Library: grandiose interior, stupefying views.
Alas, a diminutive collection of books... The only drawback in my opinion. But if we take into account that this library opened its gates a few months ago, all we have to do is wait. Week in - week out the collection is enriched.
Don't miss out on a visit there. A wonderful place to read and study.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Babylon, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow Now this is a library”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

While in San Diego make it a point to visit the new downtown library. It is a nine story facility which also houses a new charter school. It is something to behold as every floor is dedicated to particular interests. The top floor (9th) looks over the downtown area of the city with awesome views . the 8th floor is spectacular, with lounging chairs filled with great comfort for reading , listening to music, or just being contemplative. It is simply wonderful.....

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“New library worth a look”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The new San Diego Central library opened 9/27/2013. The architecture is distinctive. One exterior wall has 3 "open books" of glass. The dome is the landmark. The designers made some curious choices about combining the old and new. For example, you can use one of their two 3-D printers. Yet sheet music is kept in 4-drawer metal file cabinets. A couple departments use card catalogs. Computers are everywhere. Reading rooms are inviting, many with stunning views.
There is a fun Lego model of the complex in the lobby (see photo.)
One hour walking tours are available and can be reserved on-line. Make sure you are at the new Park Blvd. location, not the old library.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The end of an era...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The first library my mother took me to when I was very young. Way back when there weren't libraries in each little community. I was amazed that you could check out as many books as you wanted, that was amazing to a kid! I remember checking out all of the Beatrix Potter books. I believe my love of reading came from those visits to the downtown library. It closed today for the last time, as they have built a larger one elsewhere.

Many fond memories walking the isles today. Lots of librarians with puffy eyes from crying. I hope the building is re-purposed, and not demolished. The stairwells with their shiny brass railings and green speckled floor and walls still have many years of good use left in them.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Diego Central Library also viewed

 

Been to San Diego Central Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Diego Central Library, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added San Diego Central Library to your Saves list