We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Eats in a prime location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of California Pizza Kitchen

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
California Pizza Kitchen
7007 Friars Rd, San Diego, CA 92108-1148 (Mission Valley / Hotel Circle)
(619) 298-4078
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #524 of 4,100 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Pizza, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Neighborhood: Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good Eats in a prime location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have only eaten at one other California Pizza Kitchen in Los Angeles, so I forgot what they had to offer. This place (as someone mentioned in another review) is definitely MORE than just pizza.

Given it's in their name, I ordered the works pizza (was rather delicious). Their menu has plenty of appetizers and other alternatives to choose from, all at relatively cheap prices. This one is located in Fashion Valley Mall, and saw a lot of traffic for a Wednesday evening.

We did not have to wait for a table, but the restaurant was almost full. Overall impression was good food for a good price. Ordering the pizza I had leftovers with an appetizer, so you definitely get your moneys worth.

I would be inclined to dine at another CPK location in the future.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    25
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Better just to get frozen ones from store”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

The pizza is indeed great... But it's just as good getting it frozen from the grocery store for 6 bucks. I got the artichoke and spinach pizza which was like 14 bucks it was okay for the size. We also got a cheese pizza for 11... It was small for the size but both tasted great. Price wise I would just go to the grocery store next time but this past time I wanted to experience the restaurant pizza.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“More than just pizza.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

CPK is a great family restaurant that is both fun and has great food. If you are like me, chains are places that you only go when you are at home but CPK is one that I frequent when I am traveling.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Real Italian Pasta and Pizza and Salads”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Casual, very good. I love the salads and the pasta is agreat. Their pizzas are super too. The manager is usually there, so you can count on him for anything.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Me and my gf went to Fashion Valley and decided to eat at this place. It was right inside the mall (looks like it is the only independent restaurant inside). The food is good and the waitress was friendly.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California Pizza Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to California Pizza Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage California Pizza Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.