We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meat is great but service...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Morton's - The Steakhouse

Morton's - The Steakhouse
285 J St, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)
619-696-3369
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Morton's - The Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #106 of 3,683 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $50 - $80
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 2nd & 3rd Streets
Transit: Trolley stop
Description: Morton's The Steakhouse, the nation's premier steakhouse group, specializes in classic, hearty fare, serving generous portions of USDA prime aged beef, as well as fresh fish, lobster and chicken entrees. The menu, which is the same at all locations, features a variety of favorite cuts, including a 24 ounce porterhouse, which is the house specialty; a 16 ounce New York Strip and a 12 ounce double cut filet.
bologna
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Meat is great but service...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

The meat was really excellent, but the service was extremely slow.
Twenty minutes to wait because of lack of waiters, then an hour for the food. Too much at 9PM.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    42
    20
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Excellent experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Well coordinated, polished and extremely attentive service. Loved the roomy booth seating. As for the food, we loved everything: large tasty salads (bib lettuce with walnuts, pears and blue cheese; and Morton's own with blue cheese and anchovies); a great filet mignon and the tenderest, juiciest pork chop. We were too full to have desert, we need to come another time for the lemon souffle!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

OMG! Best food ever. Loved the steak and lobster. Great atmosphere. The Potterhouse steak was delicious. Wewere seated right away. Our server was great. we will eat thereagain when we visit san diego. i will recommend to anyone.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Consistantly Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

When you want to spend $ 300.00 on date night and have one hell of a steak and a drink go here. Its not for every day, but once a month is great.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The top”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is our go-to place for family dinners. The food is always amazing, meat cooked perfectly, service is stellar and it's cozy and comfortable, not pretentious.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morton's - The Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Morton's - The Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morton's - The Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.