We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This should be No. 1” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dockside Yacht Lodging

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dockside Yacht Lodging
2071 Shelter Island Marina, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 40 San Diego B&B and Inns
london
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“This should be No. 1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We booked this as an alternative to the usual hotel stay, we are always looking for something different to sterile hotels. I can't tell you how much we enjoyed this, from the first moment of arriving to the sad moment we are leaving to catch our flight. We had four wonderful nights on Pura Vita and we wish we could stay forever….. We don't say that about a lot of places but this yacht has it all….a wonderful host in Chaluim, a budding entrepreneur who looked after us spectacularly and has thought through every detail….! All mod cons are here, television, wifi, kitchen, shower and so it goes on…. We especially loved the room service available from the nearby Palm Islands hotel….We were so lazy we were ordering bottles of wine via room service… And breakfast on the deck of the boat every morning is something that will stay with us forever. Thanks Chaluim for a wonderful stay and making this possible. As we said to you, we will be back!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
30
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mesquite, Nevada, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

So my husband & I were looking for a fun place to stay for our shared birthday. We came across this on trip advisor and couldn't be more thrilled with our accommodation's on the Narnie O'Shea. The sail boat was first class and Chalium was a great host. We are looking forward to another stay!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We recently spent 5 nights on the Narnie O'Shea and it was a wonderful experience. I am so happy I found it here on tripadvisor. Chalium was a great host and the yacht and marina were just as the wesbite photo's show - awesome. While it is fun to stay on a yacht, the hotel and marina ammenities really make it comfortable, especially if you are on the taller side!

Shelter Island is a great place to stay, close by to everything with free parking for those with a car, and places to eat and drink in easy walking distance. We would come back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near London , UK
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The owner, Chaluim, does everything to make your stay exceptional in these beautiful boats. The boat we stayed on, Pura Vida, was indulgent and really comfortable with all the luxury and home comforts we could want. We felt a million dollars staying here and just soooo relaxed. Wish we didn't have to leave....

Room Tip: The room service from the best western makes this even more relaxing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

When travelling we try to make our accommodations part of the experience. This usually means trying a new B&B, but while browsing TripAdvisor I stumbled across the reviews for Dockside Yacht Lodging. Three romantic nights sipping a glass of Makers Mark on the deck of a sailboat while watching the full moon rise over the bay? We were hooked! We booked three nights on the Narnie O'Shea and loved every relaxing, idyllic minute. Shelter Island is a bit of Paradise, secluded and quiet but close to everything San Diego has to offer; Historic Old Town, Balboa Park, and the U.S.S. Midway are just minutes away. The marina itself is a gated floating community; the residents are very friendly and laidback and we felt very welcome. Callum is a very likeable host, he lives close by if you need any assistance, and he goes out of his way to make sure your stay is pleasant. Outside the marina, there is a path that meanders along the shoreline with a nice fishing pier and beach area, great for long walks and carrier watching on Coronado Island on the opposite side of the bay. At night you can light fires in the fire pits on the beach and listen to the concerts at Humprey's. The Narnie O'Shea slept the two of us very comfortably -- three nights of deep peaceful slumber, lulled to sleep by the sound of the water with a cool fresh breeze coming through the open hatches. The pillows were amazing! The two smaller bedrooms are tiny, as are the bathrooms. (If anyone in your party is taller than 5'10" or so you might be more comfortable on the Pura Vida.) My husband is 6'2" and the shower was a tight fit. However, you do have full marina privileges with access to a very clean showers and restrooms as an alternative. The island has a nice variety of restaurants and there is a Ralphs close by for those who want to stock up the fridge in the galley -- but the Best Western has a good restaurant and offers room service to marina residents so you can have a nice breakfast delivered to your slip if you don't feel like cooking. All in all it was a truly lovely experience and I would do it again in a heartbeat. You will find it is simply impossible not to be relaxed on a boat. A definite five stars for anyone looking for a romantic or adventurous alternative to the four walls of a hotel room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Want to get away and feel like loyalty without the expense? Book your stay on the Pura Vida. The accommodations are first class. The location peaceful yet accessible to anything you may need. Chalium was a wonderful host. He is an extraordinary young man with a vision of the perfect alternative to a hotel stay. He has equipped the yacht with anything you may need. The beds were incredibly inviting and comfortable. The kitchen had items that we needed to make breakfast and snacks. The adjacent hotel has a restaurant with yummy food to eat in or take out and enjoy on the aft deck. What is more relaxing than a glass of wine with ones you love on the back of a yacht watching the sun set? I highly recommend this lodging alternative.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

When looking at hotels in San Diego I searched extensively trying to find something that would offer my vision of vacation at the ocean. You know when you envision vacationing in Hawaii thoughts are of a beachfront villa with a lanai opening right on to a private beach. The vision doesn't usually involve a standard little boxy hotel room with, possibly, a view of some water out a window that doesn't open.
Dockside Yacht Lodging offers the ability to vacation in a way you might have only dreamed of. It's really such a unique experience, but also includes a peaceful, private and comfortable stay, great amenities, convenient location, and unbeatable views.
I have to say there are a few things I did not consider before booking our stay. The main thing I did not consider until after we arrived was the potential for noise. I've never "lived" on a boat before. Does sound travel across the water from all the surrounding boats, the hotels, the homes? Will it end up feeling, and sounding, like I'm staying at a truck-stop (yacht-stop)? Thankfully this was a concern I never had to regret not thinking of in advance. It was unbelievable how quiet and clam everything was then entire week we were there (including a holiday weekend).
The marina is private, so you receive a passkey when you arrive. We left the door and windows open round the clock and never felt the least bit of unease with regard to privacy or safety. The beds are very comfortable, toilets are easy to use (not involving manually pumping water into the bowl like some older boats), the kitchen is very handy and well equipped, and there is plenty of space to relax inside and outside while on the boat.
As other reviewers have mentioned, Chaluim was always available and more than helpful. He has wisely worked with nearby businesses like the Best Western and Sail San Diego in order to make sure guests have more amenities as well as ensuring other locals can benefit from increased tourism. I know we took advantage of a sunset sail and we also had breakfast and several lunches at the Best Western during our stay (I don't think it's possible to find better french fries and the staff was always extremely friendly and helpful).
Keep in mind it is a boat. You don't have walk-in closets or roomy showers with high water pressure. But if you're open to a unique vacation this is experience would be tough to beat. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dockside Yacht Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dockside Yacht Lodging

Address: 2071 Shelter Island Marina, San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dockside Yacht Lodging is a unique alternative to hotel accommodations in San Diego, CA. We provide a range of luxurious, yet affordable yachts that are equipped with all the amenities one would find in a hotel. Located on, our yachts are just five minutes from the airport and conveniently located near many acclaimed downtown restaurants and shopping centers. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dockside Yacht Lodging, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dockside Yacht Lodging to your Saves list