We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Oceanfront Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dockside Yacht Lodging

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dockside Yacht Lodging
2071 Shelter Island Marina, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 40 San Diego B&B and Inns
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Perfect Oceanfront Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

When looking at hotels in San Diego I searched extensively trying to find something that would offer my vision of vacation at the ocean. You know when you envision vacationing in Hawaii thoughts are of a beachfront villa with a lanai opening right on to a private beach. The vision doesn't usually involve a standard little boxy hotel room with, possibly, a view of some water out a window that doesn't open.
Dockside Yacht Lodging offers the ability to vacation in a way you might have only dreamed of. It's really such a unique experience, but also includes a peaceful, private and comfortable stay, great amenities, convenient location, and unbeatable views.
I have to say there are a few things I did not consider before booking our stay. The main thing I did not consider until after we arrived was the potential for noise. I've never "lived" on a boat before. Does sound travel across the water from all the surrounding boats, the hotels, the homes? Will it end up feeling, and sounding, like I'm staying at a truck-stop (yacht-stop)? Thankfully this was a concern I never had to regret not thinking of in advance. It was unbelievable how quiet and clam everything was then entire week we were there (including a holiday weekend).
The marina is private, so you receive a passkey when you arrive. We left the door and windows open round the clock and never felt the least bit of unease with regard to privacy or safety. The beds are very comfortable, toilets are easy to use (not involving manually pumping water into the bowl like some older boats), the kitchen is very handy and well equipped, and there is plenty of space to relax inside and outside while on the boat.
As other reviewers have mentioned, Chaluim was always available and more than helpful. He has wisely worked with nearby businesses like the Best Western and Sail San Diego in order to make sure guests have more amenities as well as ensuring other locals can benefit from increased tourism. I know we took advantage of a sunset sail and we also had breakfast and several lunches at the Best Western during our stay (I don't think it's possible to find better french fries and the staff was always extremely friendly and helpful).
Keep in mind it is a boat. You don't have walk-in closets or roomy showers with high water pressure. But if you're open to a unique vacation this is experience would be tough to beat. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
30
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The owner Callum and family are amazing. They made us feel incredibly welcome and talked us through all we needed to know along with some great advise for the area, all from the wonderful location sat on board the very comfortable deck. What an amazing place to stay and a superb idea. Callum also rents out kayaks and paddle boats and put us in touch with sail San Diego, Callum's Mum talked with us for ages turns out we were all originally from the uk, and the talented sister also made some beautiful boat themed bracelets
. We had a brilliant time, the boats are incredible, pristine, delightfully decorated to a 5star standard , we stayed on the near is o Shea, and enjoyed meals and drinks in the beautiful San Diego Summer on the deck. The on board kitchen and showe, bathrooms were great and the beds memory foam amazingly comfortable. We'll be back! Thank Callam and family!,

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Who can afford a 45ft sailboat - I can't - but I had an opportunity to stay on one for a whole week. It was awesome! If you want something different - this is the thing to do. It is centrally located so it's close to beaches & downtown. We had a great time and the owner, Chaluim, was always available if needed. Having the hotel right there was convenient as we used their pool & jacuzzi. All in all we had a blast!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed aboard the Narnie O'Shea for two fantastic nights. We simply cannot rave enough about what a wonderful time it was, and what a terrifically hospitable host Chaluim is.
We look forward to returning!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed on the Pura Vida. It was incredible, all the amenities you could want and more. There was nothing better than to wake up and enjoy your coffee on the back deck taking in the sights and sounds of the ocean and the rigging. Sleeping on the temper pedic was heaven and there were no neighbors or bar noises. The marina is very calm, the boat didn't move. Cal was a fantastic host, never too far away and always ensuring we had all the accommodations we needed. We enjoyed the kayaks, the hotel pool/spa, fishing, and bikes are available too. Can't wait to book again with friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, California
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Cal, the owner of the 2 yachts is an incredible host. We called when we were getting close, and he met us out front of the marina. He showed us to the yacht and made us feel like it was our yacht. What a great vacation. The amenities were great, and easy access to the hotel that is less than a 2 minute walk. Ready to book again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Had an amazing Mother's Day weekend aboard the Pura Vida and cannot recommend it more highly!! Wonderful yacht, wonderful location and wonderful host, Chaluim! We have found our home away from home! Truly wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dockside Yacht Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dockside Yacht Lodging

Address: 2071 Shelter Island Marina, San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dockside Yacht Lodging is a unique alternative to hotel accommodations in San Diego, CA. We provide a range of luxurious, yet affordable yachts that are equipped with all the amenities one would find in a hotel. Located on, our yachts are just five minutes from the airport and conveniently located near many acclaimed downtown restaurants and shopping centers. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dockside Yacht Lodging, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dockside Yacht Lodging to your Saves list