We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't be closer to the ocean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dockside Yacht Lodging

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dockside Yacht Lodging
Save Saved
You added Dockside Yacht Lodging to your Saves list
2071 Shelter Island Marina, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 39 San Diego B&B and Inns
Minneapolis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“You can't be closer to the ocean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed on the Pura Vida. It was incredible, all the amenities you could want and more. There was nothing better than to wake up and enjoy your coffee on the back deck taking in the sights and sounds of the ocean and the rigging. Sleeping on the temper pedic was heaven and there were no neighbors or bar noises. The marina is very calm, the boat didn't move. Cal was a fantastic host, never too far away and always ensuring we had all the accommodations we needed. We enjoyed the kayaks, the hotel pool/spa, fishing, and bikes are available too. Can't wait to book again with friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
36
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Monrovia, California
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Cal, the owner of the 2 yachts is an incredible host. We called when we were getting close, and he met us out front of the marina. He showed us to the yacht and made us feel like it was our yacht. What a great vacation. The amenities were great, and easy access to the hotel that is less than a 2 minute walk. Ready to book again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Had an amazing Mother's Day weekend aboard the Pura Vida and cannot recommend it more highly!! Wonderful yacht, wonderful location and wonderful host, Chaluim! We have found our home away from home! Truly wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Challium who runs this hotel (think have your own luxury yacht for totally personal and exclusive use) does a super fine job with his 2 yachts: the Narnie O'Shea and Pura Vida motor yacht

We stayed on the Pura Vida - totally awesome, luxurious, welcoming, fully equipped with everything you can imagine and the friendliness of the excellent owner thrown in. Great location on Shelter Island marina with all the services of the BW+ Island Palms Hotel available to you ... And nothing is too much trouble

This is an "experience" as most of us don't have a luxury 50ft yacht at our disposal so why not chill out on deck in the sunshine and try the lifestyle for yourself? We did just a short stay this trip - sadly - but will be back for a week or two!

If in San Diego, leisure or business, give this place a go!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Tried a different type of lodging experience in staying aboard a 46 foot Hunter yacht: 3 bedroom berths, 2 bathrooms, kitchen galley, living/dining area, 2 TVs. Very comfortable, clean, cozy. Sitting outside to sip wine, watch the activity of other boats, observe birdlife was a welcome and relaxing way to spend vacation time. We had full access to the Best Western Plus amenities- so life was good! Chaluim was a gracious host - really making you feel as though you were the most important guest and he was fully available to meet all needs and requests. We also enjoyed a three hour sail with Sail San Diego - such a great experience. If we return to San Diego again, we plan to rent the Pura Vida yacht. Excellent adventure - we recommend it highly!

Room Tip: The yachts were in a peaceful setting- very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We spent one night on the Pura Vida and we loved it. It has all the conveniences of home (coffee maker, toaster, kettle, etc) but so much nicer! It's extremely spacious with the most comfy beds - lovely linens, duvets, I wanted to stay snuggled in bed with the breeze coming in through the port holes. But it was also wonderful to get up and have coffee outside on the aft deck, water like glass, and watching pelicans diving for fish. We had a delicious dinner at the hotel and then came back to the boat for a final nightcap on the deck - with candles and soft music. They even had put fresh flowers on the table. We will definitely be back and for a much longer stay next time!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Escaping from B.C.'s wet winter is a given, but where does a boater feel most at home ?

Chaluim at Dockside had the answer, and taking a 46ft sailboat moored at Shelter Island proved to be a perfect fit for Diane and Dave.

Already addicted to the incomparable waters of B.C.'s Gulf Islands and the special camaraderie of the boating fraternity, a holiday on board was bound to be a winner.

Chaluim insured all that all services for the Narnie O'shea were maintained correctly, and responded promptly to any special need, and even changed our propane cylinder after a run out.

We took the boat on approval for one week, and ended up staying for a whole month.
The moorage position provided sunshine onto the deck from dawn to dusk and some spectacular sunsets.

Free wi fi, access to the Best Western Hotel facilities, showers, Pool and Hot Tub, gave us the best of both worlds. Since we had decided to avoid driving, our $20.00 / month transit passes were well used and got us to all the main S.D. attractions.

We recommend Dockside Yacht Lodging to anyone who is comfortable aboard boats and being on the water.

Dave and Diane Hepper Victoria BC.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dockside Yacht Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dockside Yacht Lodging

Address: 2071 Shelter Island Marina, San Diego, CA 92106
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dockside Yacht Lodging is a unique alternative to hotel accommodations in San Diego, CA. We provide a range of luxurious, yet affordable yachts that are equipped with all the amenities one would find in a hotel. Located on, our yachts are just five minutes from the airport and conveniently located near many acclaimed downtown restaurants and shopping centers. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dockside Yacht Lodging, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.