We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreamy Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dockside Yacht Lodging

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dockside Yacht Lodging to your Saves list
Dockside Yacht Lodging
2071 Shelter Island Marina, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 39 San Diego B&B and Inns
Temecula, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dreamy Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Loved everything about our stay!! Here's a little excerpt from my blog about it:

As soon as we got to the marina where our little yacht was anchored, I was totally enchanted. Everything about it was dreamy, it was way roomier and brighter than I had anticipated. Even though we had internet and cable and downtown San Diego was only a couple of minutes away, as soon as Jared plugged in our iPod to the speakers that played Fleet Foxes all around the boat while we relaxed on the deck, I felt like we were on our little island.

We picked up some treats, hung out at the hot tub at the hotel the yacht rental co. is connected with (you can even order room service from the hotel) and watched movies.

The next morning we woke up to this and, again, hung out while watching the fish jump in the water and the fog covered harbor. I felt like I was in a Dickens' novel (besides the lack of orphans and rich uncles).

Can't wait to go back with our two little ones!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
37
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Just want to thank callium for the best new years ever.This boat was amazing.we enjoyed fishing off the back of the boat and the convinience of hotel food and drink.we took advantage of the room service.Yes,they do deliver from the hotel and it was fantastic.Watching boats come in and relaxing on the deck was so enjoyable.The boat is equiped with everything you need,spices for cooking,pans,cups,cofee,sugar ,tea,cable tv,and yes internet.Even though we had a power failure callium was there in an instant.He is an amazing guy with extreem care for his customers and there comfort.I cant wait to go back I wanna check out the new boat they aquired.See ya soon.

Room Tip: A must stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitman, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

As boat owners, we enjoy marina life and all the extras: friendly folks, the smell of fresh seawater, beautiful sunrises & sunsets, so we knew we wanted our vacation lodgings at a marina or on a boat. We originally booked with another company that pulled a last minute switch to a sub-standard boat. We were lucky enough to contact Chalium Muir, who accomodated us with no small effort on his part (the Pura Vida wasn't yet prepared for a new set of visitors). His diligent and speedy efforts had us tucked in a beautiful, clean and well stocked boat in 2 hours. Besides checking in with us mid week, Chalium even made a special late night trip out to the boat when the water was accidently shut off.

The boat itself was perfect, 2 BD 1.5 BR with a decent kitchen that came equipped with an oven and apartment sized refrigerator. There were extra towels, pillows and blankets. The tempurpedic mattress in the MB was heavenly to sink into after a long day of sight-seeing. The outside deck proved perfect to sip wine and watch the sunsets. We didn't have a chance to indulge in the hotel 'extras' (pool, hot tub etc.) but will the next time we are in SD - because without a doubt, we plan on making this our west coast go-to accomodations!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Booked to stay with Dockside not ever having stayed on a sailboat before. Previous trips to San Diego stayed in typical hotel room. The Narnie o Shea was fantastic! The accommodations from the kitchen, lounging area to the bedroom were excellent. Everything you would need is readily available. If you have ever gone RV ing then working the stove, washrooms, etc is a breeze. If not then its very easy to get used to. My wife and I stocked the fridge with drinks and food items and enjoyed a glass of wine on the deck watching the sun go down. Very quiet and peaceful. You have so much more room compared to a hotel room. My business acquaintances that booked hotel rooms were extremely jealous! This is where I will stay every time I am back in San Diego. Chalium Muir was very accommodating, making sure that we were comfortable with all aspects staying on the boat and checked in during our stay to ensure that everything was going well

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dockside Yacht Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dockside Yacht Lodging

Address: 2071 Shelter Island Marina, San Diego, CA 92106
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dockside Yacht Lodging is a unique alternative to hotel accommodations in San Diego, CA. We provide a range of luxurious, yet affordable yachts that are equipped with all the amenities one would find in a hotel. Located on, our yachts are just five minutes from the airport and conveniently located near many acclaimed downtown restaurants and shopping centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Dockside Yacht Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dockside Yacht Lodging, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.