We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French toast!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spice House Cafe

Spice House Cafe
9035 Clairemont Mesa Boulevard, San Diego, CA
(858) 565-1028
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #570 of 4,044 restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“French toast!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

The best French toast of your life! And it's not expensive! Decor is old but who cares? Come here hungry and for breakfast. the French toast is so good I want to die in it!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    6
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not only good food, good comfort food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Do you want large portions of good comfort food, at a reasonable cost, by a friendly staff, in an authentic 1980s diner? If yes, go to the Spice House Café. The food is always good and the menu, well plan on getting there early to give yourself time to read the entire menu. Not only will you find "American" food, but don't forget the Greek items as well as the Mexican items. The owner is Greek so, the Greek items are not to be missed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great breakfast...great Greek!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Perfect location, in busy Clairemont Mesa. Breakfasts are generous, hearty, with an international flair. My favorites are the Greek-inspired breakfast options...yum!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The service was great Strawberry French toast combo was very satisfying cozy cafe friendly waiters i must try again.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wear the stretchy waist pants and eat to your heart's content”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is more of a traditional style café with a wide array of breakfast and lunch food choices. Pancakes, eggs, sandwiches, greek food, meatloaf...and the menu list goes on and one. You want a filling meal? This is the place.

You can tell the locals dine here on a very regular basis - which is always where an out-of-towner wants to be. I had the most massive french toast slices I've ever seen in my life. No joke - they were at least 2.5 inches thick. Everything I ate was yummy and our waitress was a lot of fun to talk to.

I overate a little, but I don’t care. If someone made an amazing breakfast\brunch spread for me every day, I would be a happier human being (smile).

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice House Cafe also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego

Been to Spice House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice House Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.