We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Sushi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ogawashi

Ogawashi
1100 5th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101
619-358-9170
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #389 of 4,094 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Korean
Restaurant details
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Fabulous restaurant, with friendly staff and great sushi. Wonderful food all freshly prepared. I found this place on tripadvisor and the comments made we want to try it out. I'm so glad I did. I sat at the bar and had a couple of sushi rolls and chatted to the manager. Venture up 5th Avenue to visit this place before you get sucked into all the fun bars. Then you'll be glad you did too!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    3
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Sooo happy to have stumbled upon this place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Wow, what great prices, food, service, and location!!! On our first day visiting San Diego, we just happened to wander by, and go in to check out a menu. The server that was at the front gave us tons of info about their happy hour, so we came back for dinner. We oved it so much that we came back again the very next night!! The happy hour prices were so amazing, and they included $3 glasses of wine and beer, $3 gyoza and edamame, and then there were other rolls and dishes that were very reasonable as well!! The Vegas roll was a favourite, we had to order it both nights!! And there is a cool selection of baked rolls, very interesting and delicious!! We ALMOST came back a third night, but decided that we needed to branch out and try a few other restaurants, but I look forward to going back here on our next trip to San Diego!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Sushi done right!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Glad we went here. Great sushi with good prices. Menu is very good with outstanding service. Will be back soon. Atmosphere was great.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great Japanese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Celebrated my friends birthday here. All I can say is, the ambiance was great, the service was great as well, and the food we had was awesome! Definitely worth looking for.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“We"re Lucky to Choose You”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I still cant' believe we were so lucky to dine in your restaurant on the night of. 27. Food was delicious and the price was right. The two waitresses were courteous and professional, and the environment was inviting. The waitress who served our table even opened the door to thank us for the tip that we put on the bill.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ogawashi also viewed

 

Been to Ogawashi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ogawashi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.