We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must stop for coffeenating, just desserts, or great lunches” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Babycakes

Babycakes
3766 Fifth Avenue, San Diego, CA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #378 of 4,099 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Bakery
Restaurant details
Yuma, Arizona
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Must stop for coffeenating, just desserts, or great lunches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Always a stop on my visit to San Diego. Pleasant, and sincerely happy people serving always make it a fun visit. Really tasty sandwiches. Good desserts and power-ups with coffee during the day's ambulation.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
“Great place for Sweets!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Breakfast, late night snack, or just to fulfill that on the spot craving this place is perfect to get your sweets fill. They have a ton of great choices and the staff is super friendly. My advice is to be careful on how much you get since everything is so good you will either get fat or spend a ton of money trying to get fat here. Really awesome place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great breakfast. Fast service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Originally heading to the Hash House, we saw the line and decided to look elsewhere. What luck! Babycakes delivers fresh food with exceptional service and a great atmosphere. We sat outside and enjoyed an omellete and chilaquiles while soaking up the sun. A real treat on a Sunday morning.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great cupcakes and friendly service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

The service was remarkable at the cupcake counter (did not eat an actual meal there). They treated me like a new friend. The cupcakes were delicious!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cajon
1 review
“Waited too long for mediocre food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We waited 30 minutes before someone told us they had a problem with orders. They were nice and gave us a free cupcake if we purchased one (wow). Sorry to say the cupcakes were dry and tasted old:(

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Babycakes also viewed

 

Been to Babycakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Babycakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.