We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Athena's Greek Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Athena's Greek Restaurant
1846 Garnet Avenue, San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)
(858) 274-1140
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #824 of 4,094 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Pacific Beach
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
474 reviews 474 reviews
366 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Good Greek food here. Check into Yelp and you get a free appetizer! The hummus was amazing! The pita was so warm and delicious. I got the gyro sandwich which was really good. All in all, whenever I'm in PB area and I'm craving Greek food, I'll be back. Their outdoor patio is dog friendly!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    11
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
la mesa, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Some good, some not so good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I arrived before my friend and was seated at a very small table, next to a wall, nothing to look at that was attractive or interesting. My friend refused to sit there and we moved to a better location on our own. The waiter never said a word.
The food was passable, the eggplant. There was one dish with a predominant spice of salt, no subtlety, just salt. The hummus was quite good as was the pita.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Chicken kebab, rice, pita bread and hummus are to die for. Quite reasonably priced and decent ambience.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A great lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We visit here all the time. They have a Chicken Souvlaki that is excellent. We get a greek salad with it and its just perfect. The chicken is so tender and is wrapped up in a pita bread with fresh onions tomatoes and tzatziki sauce. They service is pretty good, nothing spectacular but really its not bad so we don't really care. We go there for the food and its great!

We will continue to go and highly recommend this place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Wonderful spices.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The lamb and beef are what you expect from a good Greek restaurant. But the chicken couscous is out of this world. The chicken is cooked to perfection and the vegetables actually add great taste to the dish. The Harissa sauce is incredibly savory and mildly spicy. It's served on the side, do it yourself for more or less spice. Generous portions. Cafe-style table seating inside with a front patio and a couple of tables for outdoor eating. Bright and cheerful inside. A great place for lunch.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Athena's Greek Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Athena's Greek Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athena's Greek Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.