We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serendipity ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lighthouse Ice Cream & Yogurt

Lighthouse Ice Cream & Yogurt
5059 Newport Ave Ste 102, San Diego, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 82 Ice Cream in San Diego
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Ocean Beach area-- YUM! 144 reviews on YELP.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
“Serendipity ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

The ice cream is tasty but the proximity to the beach made it extra tasty. The staff was friendly, offering samples and not making us rush to a decision. The ice cream was as good as any small shop and better than most big chains. After indulging we walked to the beach and watched the sunset.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    13
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
144 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Best Ice Cream In Ocean Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at the Ocean Beach Hotel and Lighthouse ice Cream was right across the street. After a few days of Mexican food, our palates were screaming for some ice cream! Lighthouse satisfied....plenty of flavors to choose from, plenty of toppings, several varieties of cones to choose from. Had I not ate so much Mexican, I probably would have tried a Waffle Ice Cream...they looked wonderful!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“November 2012”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We always manage to get to the Lighthouse at least a couple of times to get our ice cream fix. They have great service and a lot of flavors of ice cream to choose.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Waffle Ice Cream Sandwich...get one.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My husband introduced me to this hole-in-a-wall, saying the waffle ice cream sandwich was "one of the best desserts ever". It takes a lot to impress him, & he's hardly ever wrong when it comes to food, so I was eager to try it!
I ordered an apple cinnamon waffle w/ mint chip ice cream & he had an original w/ pistachio almond. It was delicious! We walked one block down to the beach w/ our little one (who tried a few bites of ours too) & enjoyed watching the waves. I was impressed at how the ice cream didn't melt even tho it was sandwiched between 2 warm waffles, & didn't end up a mess like you'd expect on a warm day. It actually ended up being our "lunch" that day, it was so good & filling :)
If the kiddo hadn't eaten already I probably would have ordered her something from their "mini" ice cream menu too. This place is a little out of the way for us, but definitely worth the drive!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
503 reviews
397 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Waffle Ice Cream Sandwich!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Delicious! We got the original waffle with blueberry cheesecake and it was AMAZING! I haven't tried the other flavors but blueberry cheesecake is awesome! It's only $2.95 flat. It's cash only! The waffle sandwich is wrapped for you to eat like a sandwich. I have super sensitive teeth so I couldn't bite into it. So I had to scoop the ice cream with a spoon and bite into the waffle.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lighthouse Ice Cream & Yogurt also viewed

 

Been to Lighthouse Ice Cream & Yogurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lighthouse Ice Cream & Yogurt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.